AEO

American Eagle Outfitters, Inc.

DOUBTFUL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is AEO Halal?

Apparel retailer (American Eagle, Aerie) — the balance-sheet ratios pass, but store-card financing, intimate-apparel merchandising and modesty questions remain unquantified.

What You Should Know

American Eagle Outfitters, Inc. operates the American Eagle and Aerie brands through stores and e-commerce. Clothing retail is generally permissible, and the May 2, 2026 Form 10-Q shows $4,080.87 million of assets, $85 million of debt, $103.286 million of cash, $200.781 million of accounts receivable and $1,195.285 million of first-quarter revenue. Debt/assets is 2.08%, liquidity/assets is 2.53% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 7.45%, below the examined asset limits. The filing does not quantify store-card partner revenue, gross interest income or a universal prohibited-activity numerator. AEO therefore remains doubtful and methodology-dependent because the qualitative mix cannot be reduced to the financial ratios alone.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Aerie intimate-apparel merchandising and marketing raise modesty questions for some investors
  • Store-card financing is provided through a partner and its revenue share is not quantified
  • The latest debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash ratios pass the examined asset-based screens
  • Gross interest income is unavailable, so no purification amount is inferred
  • Verdict is mix-and-disclosure dependent; re-screen as brand and financing disclosures change

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-02; calculated 2026-07-15.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
2.08%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

85 / 4,080.87

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
2.53%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

103.286 / 4,080.87

Receivables + cash / assets
7.45%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

304.067 / 4,080.87

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets is 2.08%, liquidity/assets is 2.53% and receivables plus cash/assets is 7.45%, below the examined asset limits; gross interest income and business mix remain incomplete.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets is 2.08%, liquidity/assets is 2.53% and receivables plus cash/assets is 7.45%, below the examined MSCI total-assets limits; activity remains incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets and liquidity/assets are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits; store-card and product-mix activity remains incomplete, and this is not an official classification.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Incomplete

A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, so market-cap denominator methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

American Eagle Outfitters sells apparel, accessories and intimate apparel through American Eagle and Aerie brands. Clothing retail is generally permissible, but product presentation, modesty questions, store-card financing and partner revenue require qualitative review.

Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible numerator for store-card financing revenue, modesty-related activity or other prohibited-adjacent sales, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.

Purification

Gross interest and store-card-related non-compliant income are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Amounts are USD millions from American Eagle Outfitters' May 2, 2026 Form 10-Q.
  • Debt is $85 million of long-term debt; no current debt is reported and operating leases are excluded.
  • Cash and cash equivalents are $103.286 million; the filing does not identify a separate interest-bearing-securities balance.
  • Accounts receivable, net is $200.781 million and first-quarter revenue is $1,195.285 million.
  • The filing does not quantify store-card partner revenue, interest income or a universal prohibited-activity numerator; those qualitative exposures remain unquantified.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own AEO? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track AEO and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →