AIN
Albany International Corp.
Is AIN Halal?
Engineered fabrics, machine clothing and composite structures — generally permissible activity whose known asset-based ratios pass, with gross interest income and activity classification incomplete.
What You Should Know
Albany International's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports assets of $1,736.787 million, long-term debt of $476.541 million, cash of $122.557 million, receivables of $241.639 million and quarterly revenue of $311.333 million. Debt/assets is 27.44%, liquidity/assets is 7.06% and receivables plus cash/assets is 20.97%. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no universal prohibited-revenue numerator is available.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Known asset-based ratios pass, but gross interest income is unavailable
- •Aerospace and defense composite-component end use requires qualitative review
- •Heimbach and other acquisition activity can change leverage
- •No universal prohibited-revenue numerator is disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
476.541 / 1,736.787
122.557 / 1,736.787
364.196 / 1,736.787
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 27.44%, liquidity/assets is 7.06% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 20.97%; known ratios pass, but gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known asset-based ratios are below the examined MSCI limits; gross interest income and prohibited-activity revenue remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known debt and liquidity ratios pass the examined Malaysia limits; this is not an official classification and income/activity inputs remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored; the total-assets ratios are shown separately.
Business-activity disclosure
Albany International manufactures engineered machine clothing, fabrics and advanced composite structures. The core activity is generally permissible, but the filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for all end markets and the gross interest-income input is unavailable.
Limitation: No universal prohibited-activity revenue numerator or gross interest-income amount is separately disclosed; no percentage or purification amount is invented.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-specific purification percentage is asserted.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Albany International's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Long-term debt is $476.541 million; no current debt balance is reported. Operating-lease liabilities are not separately usable as a balance-sheet debt input in this filing and are not invented.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $122.557 million. A $0.500 million equity-security balance is excluded from interest-bearing securities.
- Net accounts receivable is $241.639 million; contract assets and tax receivables are not treated as trade receivables. First-quarter revenue is $311.333 million.
- The filing reports interest expense net of interest income rather than a separately usable gross interest-income numerator; no amount is invented.
- Machine clothing and engineered composites are generally permissible manufacturing activities, while aerospace-and-defense end use remains qualitative context.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →