ALB
Albemarle Corporation
Is ALB Halal?
Lithium and specialty-chemicals producer — a permissible materials business with passing known asset ratios and incomplete income/activity disclosure.
What You Should Know
Albemarle produces lithium, bromine specialties and catalysts for battery, industrial and chemical markets. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports assets of $15,139.578 million, interest-bearing debt of $1,881.831 million, cash of $1,089.809 million, receivables of $659.482 million and quarterly revenue of $1,428.731 million. Debt/assets is 12.43%, liquidity/assets is 7.20% and receivables plus cash/assets is 11.55%; known ratios pass, but gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Known interest-bearing debt/assets is 12.43%, below examined limits, but lithium prices can change leverage
- •Lithium, bromine and catalyst product end uses require qualitative review
- •Gross interest-income numerator unavailable; no fixed purification percentage asserted
- •Operating leases are excluded from the interest-bearing debt numerator
- •Commodity-price and energy-storage cycles
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
1,881.831 / 15,139.578
1,089.809 / 15,139.578
1,749.291 / 15,139.578
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 12.43%, liquidity/assets is 7.20% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 11.55%; gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known asset ratios pass examined MSCI total-assets limits; income and product end-use classification remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known debt and liquidity ratios pass examined limits; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and income/product end-use disclosure remains incomplete.
Business-activity disclosure
Albemarle produces lithium, bromine specialties and catalysts for battery, industrial and chemical markets. The materials business is generally permissible in principle, while product end-use allocation remains qualitative.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-activity revenue numerator by product or end use.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed in the filing, so no income ratio or fixed purification percentage is asserted.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Albemarle's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt is $74.628 million current plus $1,807.203 million noncurrent; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $1,089.809 million; the $23.560 million marketable equity-securities balance is not counted as interest-bearing securities.
- Accounts receivable and other receivables total $659.482 million and first-quarter revenue is $1,428.731 million.
- Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; no income numerator or purification percentage is inferred.
- Lithium, bromine and catalyst end uses are generally permissible in principle, but prohibited end-use revenue is not allocated.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →