AMD
Advanced Micro Devices
Is AMD Halal?
Semiconductor and computing hardware — March 2026 financial ratios pass, while downstream end-use revenue is not separately disclosed.
What You Should Know
AMD's March 28, 2026 Form 10-Q shows $79,642 million of assets, $3,224 million of debt, $16,535 million of cash plus identifiable debt securities and $6,035 million of receivables. Debt/assets is 4.05%, liquidity/assets is 20.76% and receivables plus cash/assets is 14.60%. Semiconductor activity is generally permissible, but the result remains qualified because customers and end uses are not fully classified.
⚠️ Concerns
- •General-purpose chips can support both beneficial and harmful end uses
- •Export controls, AI concentration and customer warrants
- •Supply-chain labor, energy, water and mineral sourcing
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-28; calculated 2026-07-14.
3,224 / 79,642
16,535 / 79,642
11,620 / 79,642
37 / 10,253
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 4.05%, identifiable liquidity/assets is 20.76%, and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 14.60%; gross interest income and end-use revenue are not fully disclosed.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, identifiable liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits; business activity and gross investment income remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt and identifiable liquidity are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, so market-cap denominator methods are not estimated from a spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
AMD designs CPUs, GPUs, adaptive chips, data-center accelerators, embedded products and software. Semiconductor and general-purpose computing activities are generally permissible, but public reporting does not classify revenue by downstream use or customer contract.
Limitation: AMD does not separately disclose revenue attributable to defense, surveillance, gaming, cryptocurrency, weapons, or other potentially sensitive end uses. The activity conclusion is therefore a qualified qualitative assessment, not proof that every downstream use is permissible.
Purification
The filing discloses $37 million of interest expense but not a gross interest-income or fully screened investment-income numerator. ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from AMD's March 28, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is the reported current and non-current long-term debt; AMD reported no commercial paper outstanding and had a $3 billion undrawn revolver.
- Cash is $5,585 million and identifiable interest-bearing securities are $10,950 million of available-for-sale debt securities; equity investments are excluded.
- Accounts receivable is the reported net current balance of $6,035 million.
- Quarterly revenue was $10,253 million and disclosed interest expense was $37 million; the filing does not disclose a gross non-compliant income numerator, so no prohibited-revenue percentage is invented.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →