AMGN

Amgen Inc.

DOUBTFUL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is AMGN Halal?

Medicines are generally permissible and beneficial, but March 2026 debt was 61.97% of assets, failing the examined total-assets methods.

What You Should Know

Amgen develops, manufactures and sells human therapeutics, an activity that generally supports preservation of health and life. Its current liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest ratios pass the examined limits, but debt is above all three total-assets thresholds. Market-cap methods are not calculated without reproducible historical denominator data, and product-level screened revenue is not disclosed. The prior blanket porcine-material concern is replaced with a product-specific evidence requirement.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt was 61.97% of total assets
  • Product ingredients, excipients, cell lines and manufacturing inputs require product-specific evidence
  • Clinical trials, patient safety, animal research and pharmacovigilance
  • Pricing, access, patents, reimbursement and healthcare-provider relationships
  • Screened product, royalty and licensing revenue is not separately disclosed

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-12.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
61.97%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

57,323 / 92,504

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
14.23%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

13,165 / 92,504

Receivables + cash / assets
22.89%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

21,176 / 92,504

Non-compliant income / revenue
1.17%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

101 / 8,618

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 61.97% of total assets, above the 33.333% limit. Liquidity is 14.23%, receivables plus cash is 22.89%, and disclosed interest income is 1.17%, all within their examined limits.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is above the 33.33% total-assets limit even though the identifiable liquidity and receivables ratios are below their limits.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is above 33% of total assets, and a screened business-revenue percentage is unavailable. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Amgen develops, manufactures and sells human therapeutics. Medicines and biotechnology that preserve health and life are generally permissible and socially beneficial activities, subject to product-specific ingredients, manufacturing, research and commercial practices.

Limitation: The filing does not classify revenue by Sharia-screened ingredient, excipient, cell line, manufacturing input, research method, licensing arrangement or product use. No prohibited core segment is identified, but an exact prohibited-revenue percentage cannot be proven from the consolidated disclosure.

Purification

Disclosed interest income equals 1.17% of quarterly revenue, but screened operating revenue remains unavailable. The ratio is evidence for the income screen, not a complete fixed purification prescription.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt is the sum of 5,437 of current long-term debt and 51,886 of long-term debt.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 12,038 balance. Money-market mutual funds classified within cash equivalents are not counted again as securities.
  • Interest-bearing securities are 996 of U.S. Treasury bills plus 131 of other short-term interest-bearing securities, all maturing within one year.
  • Receivables use the reported 9,138 net trade-receivables balance.
  • Revenue and the disclosed 101 of interest income use the same three-month period ended March 31, 2026.
  • Amgen reports product sales and other revenue but does not provide a Sharia-screened numerator for product ingredients, manufacturing inputs, licensing, royalties, or other potentially non-compliant activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own AMGN? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track AMGN and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →