AMZN2
Amazon Web Services (AWS; parent-company proxy)
Is AMZN2 Halal?
Cloud infrastructure — if assessed separately, AWS is entirely permissible.
What You Should Know
AWS provides cloud computing services. The March 31, 2026 Amazon filing gives a parent-company proxy of debt/assets 13.32%, liquidity/assets 15.61%, receivables plus cash/assets 19.35% and disclosed interest income/revenue 0.59%. AWS-specific financial statements and activity revenue are not separately disclosed, so the quantitative result is methodology-dependent rather than an AWS certification.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Part of Amazon (parent has DOUBTFUL status)
- •Parent-company ratios are not standalone AWS figures
- •Amazon activity mix is not allocated to the alias
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
122,058 / 916,630
143,089 / 916,630
177,348 / 916,630
1,066 / 181,519
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Parent-proxy debt is 13.32%, liquidity is 15.61%, receivables plus cash are 19.35% and disclosed interest income is 0.59%, each below the examined limits; AWS-specific activity remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Parent-proxy debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are 13.32%, 15.61% and 19.35%, below the examined 33.33% total-assets limits; this is not an AWS standalone or index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Parent-proxy debt and identifiable liquidity are 13.32% and 15.61%, below the examined 33% limits; the calculation is not an official classification and AWS activity remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
AWS provides cloud infrastructure and related technology services, which are generally permissible in isolation. The AMZN2 route is an AWS alias, but the available filing is Amazon parent-company data and does not isolate AWS activity for a complete issuer-level Sharia screen.
Limitation: Amazon does not disclose a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator or a standalone AWS balance sheet and income statement in the filing used here.
Purification
Parent-company interest income is 0.59% of quarterly revenue, but AWS-specific income and a scholar-approved purification numerator are unavailable; no fixed purification amount is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- This is a parent-company proxy for the preserved AMZN2 AWS route; Amazon does not publish a standalone AWS balance sheet for this screen.
- Debt includes 119,074 of long-term debt, 2,832 of current debt and 152 of short-term borrowings; leases and other financing obligations are excluded from this narrower debt input.
- Cash is 101,816 and marketable securities are 41,273; restricted cash and operating balances are excluded.
- Accounts receivable, net and other is 75,532; the combined filing line is used conservatively because a standalone AWS receivables balance is unavailable.
- Quarterly revenue is 181,519 and reported interest income is 1,066, or 0.59% of parent revenue. AWS revenue and prohibited-activity revenue are not separately quantified.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →