ATHA
LeonaBio, Inc. (formerly Athira Pharma)
Is ATHA Halal?
Clinical-stage biotechnology alias with a current liquidity-screen failure; the issuer changed its name and ticker to LeonaBio/LONA.
What You Should Know
ATHA is a preserved legacy route for LeonaBio, Inc. (formerly Athira Pharma), which began trading under LONA in January 2026. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports USD 71.590 million of assets, no interest-bearing debt, USD 32.833 million of cash and USD 34.846 million of short-term investments. Identifiable liquidity is 94.54% of assets; no operating revenue is reported. Therapeutic drug development remains generally permissible, while clinical materials, product ingredients and funding dependence require review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Identifiable cash and short-term investments are 94.54% of assets
- •Clinical-stage losses and funding dependence
- •Drug ingredients, excipients and trial materials require product-level review
- •ATHA is a preserved alias for LeonaBio/LONA; the URL is unchanged
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
0 / 71.59
67.679 / 71.59
32.833 / 71.59
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 0.00%, but liquidity/assets is 94.54%, above the examined 33.333% limit; operating revenue and income data are unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Identifiable cash and short-term investments are 94.54% of assets, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit; the clinical activity remains qualitatively incomplete.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Identifiable liquidity/assets is 94.54%, above the examined Malaysia ratio; this is a ZakatInvest calculation, not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Fails
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored; the filing-based liquidity failure is documented.
Business-activity disclosure
LeonaBio is a clinical-stage biotechnology company developing therapeutics, including the lasofoxifene program acquired for metastatic breast cancer. Therapeutic drug development is generally permissible, while clinical-trial materials, intellectual-property licensing and product-specific ingredients require review.
Limitation: The company has no established operating revenue and does not disclose a universal prohibited-income allocation for securities income or future product economics.
Purification
LeonaBio reports other income from investment securities but does not disclose a scholar-approved purification percentage; no fixed amount is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from LeonaBio's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; the route preserves the former ATHA ticker.
- Cash and cash equivalents are USD 32.833 million and short-term investments are USD 34.846 million; restricted cash is excluded.
- The company reports no operating revenue and no interest-bearing debt in the balance sheet; other income is not treated as a complete prohibited-income numerator.
- LeonaBio changed its name from Athira Pharma and its Nasdaq symbol from ATHA to LONA in January 2026.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →