ATI
ATI Inc.
Is ATI Halal?
Specialty-metals manufacturing is generally permissible, but debt/assets is above 33% in the March 2026 filing and aerospace/defense exposure remains qualitative.
What You Should Know
ATI Inc. produces titanium, nickel-based and other specialty alloys for aerospace, defense, medical, energy and industrial customers. The core manufacturing activity is generally permissible, while end-market treatment remains qualitative. Its March 29, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $5,234.1 million of assets, $1,827.9 million of interest-bearing debt, $401.7 million of cash and $664.4 million of accounts receivable. Debt/assets is 34.92%, above the examined 33.333% FTSE, 33.33% MSCI and 33% Malaysia limits; liquidity/assets is 7.67% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 20.37%. A separate gross interest-income numerator is not disclosed. Because the binding leverage screen fails, the current result is doubtful until the balance sheet or methodology-specific denominator changes.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is 34.92% ($1,827.9 million / $5,234.1 million), above the examined asset-based limits
- •Aerospace and defense represented a large share of quarterly sales and is not fully separated for a Sharia activity screen
- •A separate gross interest-income amount is unavailable for the FTSE income test
- •Inventory, capacity and metals cycles can change leverage quickly
- •Re-screen after a newer filing, refinancing or material end-market change
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-29; calculated 2026-07-15.
1,827.9 / 5,234.1
401.7 / 5,234.1
1,066.1 / 5,234.1
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 34.92%, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity/assets is 7.67% and receivables plus cash/assets is 20.37%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 34.92%, above the examined 33.33% total-assets limit; the other known ratios are below their limits.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 34.92%, above the examined 33% limit; this is not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Fails
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored; the asset-based debt screen already fails.
Business-activity disclosure
ATI produces titanium, nickel-based and other specialty alloys for aerospace, defense, medical, energy and industrial customers. Advanced-materials manufacturing is generally permissible, while defense and end-use exposure is not completely separated in the filing.
Limitation: The filing reports end markets but does not quantify a scholar-approved prohibited-activity numerator for defense, government or other customer uses.
Purification
A separate gross interest-income amount is not available in the extracted filing statement, so no scholar-approved purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from ATI's March 29, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt combines $33.2 million of short-term/current debt and $1,794.7 million of long-term debt; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $401.7 million; no separate interest-bearing securities balance is identified.
- Accounts receivable, net are $664.4 million and quarterly sales are $1,151.5 million.
- A separate gross interest-income numerator is not disclosed in the extracted filing statement.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →