AVT
Avnet, Inc.
Is AVT Halal?
Electronics distributor with a generally permissible core business, but the current filing-based receivables screen fails under the examined MSCI proxy.
What You Should Know
Avnet, Inc. distributes electronic components and embedded solutions through its Electronic Components and Farnell businesses. Its March 28, 2026 Form 10-Q reports assets of $13,489.294 million, interest-bearing debt of $2,942.903 million, cash of $202.436 million and receivables of $5,502.259 million. Debt/assets is 21.82%, liquidity/assets is 1.50% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 42.29%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. FTSE's known asset ratios pass but income remains incomplete, Malaysia's known asset ratios pass, and the examined MSCI receivables-plus-cash proxy fails at 42.29%, so the stored result remains methodology-dependent and doubtful.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Receivables-plus-cash/assets is 42.29%, above the examined MSCI 33.33% limit
- •Working-capital-intensive distribution model relies on debt financing and receivables securitization
- •Electronic components serve aerospace, defense, industrial, automotive and consumer end uses
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
- •Re-screen after the next filing or a material working-capital change
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-28; calculated 2026-07-15.
2,942.903 / 13,489.294
202.436 / 13,489.294
5,704.695 / 13,489.294
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 21.82%, liquidity is 1.50% and receivables plus cash is 42.29%, below examined FTSE limits, but gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Receivables plus cash is 42.29%, above the examined 33.33% total-assets limit; debt and liquidity are below their limits.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 21.82% and liquidity is 1.50%, below the examined 33% limits; activity remains incomplete and this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and activity classification remains incomplete.
Business-activity disclosure
Avnet distributes electronic components and technology products through its Electronic Components and Farnell businesses. Distribution is generally permissible, while customer end uses, financing structures and product categories require review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for electronics customers, product categories or end uses, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions converted from Avnet's thousands-of-dollars presentation for March 28, 2026.
- Debt combines $470.090 million short-term debt and $2,472.813 million long-term debt; the accounts-receivable securitization balance is included in short-term debt and operating leases are excluded.
- Cash is $202.436 million and no separately identified interest-bearing securities are added.
- Receivables are $5,502.259 million and third-quarter sales are $7,119.779 million; gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
- The examined MSCI receivables-plus-cash proxy is 42.29%, above its 33.33% total-assets threshold; methodologies therefore differ.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →