AVY
Avery Dennison Corp.
Is AVY Halal?
Labels and packaging — permissible manufacturing.
What You Should Know
Avery Dennison's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 42.21%, above the examined 33% financial limits; liquidity/assets is 3.38% and receivables plus cash/assets is 21.19%. Gross interest income and a prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed, while RFID, apparel and customer end uses remain qualitative concerns.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 42.21% of assets
- •Gross interest income not separately disclosed
- •RFID and apparel end markets
- •Activity revenue not quantified
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
3,790.1 / 8,978.6
303.8 / 8,978.6
1,902.2 / 8,978.6
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.21% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit. Liquidity is 3.38% and receivables plus cash is 21.19%; gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.21% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables plus cash are below their limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.21% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, while identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Avery Dennison makes pressure-sensitive labels, packaging materials, RFID products and identification solutions. These are generally permissible manufacturing and technology activities, but apparel, customer end uses and product categories require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for apparel, customer end uses, RFID applications or other scholar-specific activity categories.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and screened operating-revenue categories are not quantified; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $605.0 million of short-term borrowings and current maturities with $3,185.1 million of long-term debt and finance leases.
- Cash uses $255.1 million of cash and cash equivalents. Debt securities available for sale of $48.7 million are included; equity investments are excluded.
- Trade accounts receivable are $1,647.1 million and quarterly net sales are $2,298.5 million.
- The filing reports $35.6 million of interest expense but does not separately disclose gross interest income usable as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →