BIRK
Birkenstock Holding plc
Is BIRK Halal?
Generally permissible footwear business with a methodology-dependent current screen; debt and known liquidity ratios pass, while product-level revenue and gross interest income are not fully disclosed.
What You Should Know
Birkenstock's March 2026 filing describes footbed-based footwear plus skincare and accessories. Debt/assets are 22.24%, liquidity/assets are 3.90% and receivables plus cash/assets are 9.69% under the reproducible total-assets calculation. The business screen remains incomplete because the filing does not quantify skincare, cosmetics, accessories, leather or other screened product revenue, and gross interest income is unavailable.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Product-level skincare, cosmetics, accessories and material revenue is not separately disclosed
- •Leather sourcing, slaughter, tanning and animal-welfare evidence requires product-level review
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; no fixed purification percentage is prescribed
- •L Catterton/LVMH ownership, term loans, vendor loan, senior notes and lease liabilities warrant continuing monitoring
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 6-K figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
1,148.668 / 5,164.463
201.467 / 5,164.463
500.426 / 5,164.463
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 22.24%, identifiable liquidity is 3.90% and receivables plus cash are 9.69%, all below the examined asset limits. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, so the FTSE income input is incomplete; product-level business activity is also unresolved.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, identifiable liquidity and receivables plus cash pass the examined total-assets limits. The business-activity evidence and product-level revenue allocation remain incomplete; this is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 22.24% and identifiable conventional liquidity is 3.90%, below the examined 33% limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; product-level business activity remains unresolved.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Birkenstock manufactures and sells footbed-based products, including sandals and closed-toe silhouettes, plus skincare and accessories for everyday leisure and work. Footwear is generally permissible, while the filing does not quantify product-level revenue for skincare, cosmetics, accessories, materials or other categories that some investors may review separately.
Limitation: The latest filing reports revenue by region and sales channel, not a screened product-category numerator. It therefore cannot support a universal zero-or-one prohibited-revenue conclusion for skincare, cosmetics, accessories, leather sourcing or particular ingredients.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed in the latest filing. The site therefore does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage; readers should follow the scholar or methodology they use and revisit the next filing.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt uses the reported loans-and-borrowings balance of €1,148.668 million, including €1,131.758 million non-current borrowings and €16.910 million current borrowings. Lease liabilities are excluded from this debt input; the issuer presents them separately.
- Cash uses the March 31, 2026 balance-sheet cash and cash equivalents of €201.467 million. No separately identified interest-bearing securities are reported in the interim filing, so that input is zero rather than inferred from other assets.
- Receivables use trade and other receivables of €298.959 million. Inventory, tax assets and other current assets are not added to the receivables numerator.
- Revenue uses €618.333 million for the three months ended March 31, 2026, matching the latest balance-sheet date. The issuer reports regional and B2B/DTC information but does not provide a reproducible revenue split for skincare, cosmetics, accessories or other screened product categories.
- The filing reports finance cost, net of €33.805 million for the quarter and interest received of €1.695 million in the six-month cash-flow statement, but does not separately disclose gross interest income. The FTSE income input is therefore unavailable rather than estimated.
- Birkenstock describes footbed-based footwear, skincare and accessories. Because product-level prohibited revenue is not separately quantified and scholarly treatment of cosmetics, ingredients and leather sourcing can differ, no universal prohibited-revenue percentage is entered.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →