CHTR
Charter Communications
Is CHTR Halal?
Cable operator with adult content and very high debt.
What You Should Know
Charter (Spectrum) provides cable TV and internet. Cable packages include adult content channels. Extremely high debt levels violate Sharia screens. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $154,644 million of assets, $96,010 million of interest-bearing debt, $517 million of cash, $3,510 million of receivables and $13,597 million of quarterly revenue. Debt/assets is 62.08%, liquidity/assets is 0.33% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 2.60%; debt fails the examined FTSE, MSCI and Malaysia asset-based limits, while interest income is not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets 62.08% exceeds examined limits
- •Cable packages include adult content
- •Very high interest-bearing debt
- •Interest income is not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
96,010 / 154,644
517 / 154,644
4,027 / 154,644
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 62.08%, liquidity/assets is 0.33% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 2.60%; debt exceeds the examined FTSE limit.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 62.08%, above the examined MSCI 33.33% limit; liquidity/assets and receivables-plus-cash/assets are 0.33% and 2.60%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 62.08%, above the examined Malaysia limit; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored; filing-based asset ratios remain documented.
Business-activity disclosure
Charter provides broadband, mobile, video, voice and advertising services. Core connectivity is generally permissible, while video programming and adult-content channels require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-activity revenue numerator across programming, advertising, channels and customer use.
Purification
The filing does not separately disclose interest income or a complete prohibited-activity numerator, so no scholar-approved purification amount can be calculated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Charter's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt is $94,414 million of long-term debt plus the $1,596 million equipment installment plan financing facility; operating liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $517 million and the filing does not identify a separate interest-bearing securities balance for this screen.
- Accounts receivable are $3,510 million and quarterly revenue is $13,597 million; interest income is not separately disclosed from the filing's net interest expense presentation.
- Broadband, mobile and communications services are generally permissible, while video programming, adult channels, advertising and downstream content require qualitative review.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →