COUR
Coursera, Inc.
Is COUR Halal?
Online education and professional-learning platform with a net-cash balance sheet — a permissible business.
What You Should Know
Coursera, Inc. operates an online learning platform offering courses, certificates and degrees. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $1,000.5 million of assets, no conventional debt, $789.8 million of cash, $60.0 million of receivables and $195.7 million of quarterly revenue. Debt/assets is 0.00%, but cash/assets is 78.94% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 84.94%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Education is qualitatively permissible, while the current asset-based screen is incomplete to failing depending on methodology.
⚠️ Concerns
- •March 2026 filing-based cash/assets is 78.94% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 84.94%, so zero debt alone does not produce a complete quantitative pass
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; do not invent a purification percentage
- •Course, partner and enterprise-customer content remains qualitative
- •As a younger, pre-consistent-profit company, re-screen each filing
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
0 / 1,000.5
789.8 / 1,000.5
849.8 / 1,000.5
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 0.00%, but liquidity/assets is 78.94% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 84.94%, above the examined asset limits.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Known debt is zero, but liquidity and receivables-plus-cash exceed the examined total-assets limits; gross interest income and business allocation remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Liquidity/assets is 78.94% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 84.94%; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Fails
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored; the filing-based liquidity failure remains documented.
Business-activity disclosure
Coursera operates an online education and professional-learning platform offering courses, certificates and degree programs. Education is generally permissible, but the filing does not classify every course, partner or customer use by a universal Sharia category.
Limitation: No universal prohibited-activity revenue numerator or scholar-specific purification percentage is disclosed, and gross interest income is unavailable.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is asserted.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Coursera's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- No conventional interest-bearing debt or separately identified interest-bearing securities are reported; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $789.8 million and net accounts receivable are $60.0 million.
- First-quarter revenue is $195.7 million; the filing does not separately disclose a gross interest-income numerator usable for purification.
- Online education, courses and professional learning are generally permissible, while individual course content and customer use remain qualitative.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →