CRM

Salesforce Inc.

DOUBTFUL — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is CRM Halal?

General-purpose CRM and cloud software can be permissible, but current total-assets debt exceeds the examined 33% financial limits and customer-use revenue is not disclosed.

What You Should Know

Salesforce's April 2026 debt is 36.82% of total assets. Public reporting does not provide a Sharia-screened allocation for customers, autonomous-agent deployments, data, contracts or other activity categories.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt exceeds examined total-assets limits
  • Customer, AI-agent and contract-use revenue is not disclosed
  • Privacy, surveillance, bias, accountability and data-governance review
  • Interest-bearing debt and investment structures

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
36.82%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

39,280 / 106,680

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
11.10%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

11,837 / 106,680

Receivables + cash / assets
13.14%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

14,015 / 106,680

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 36.82%, above the examined 33.333% limit, so the financial screen fails even though liquidity is 11.10% and receivables plus cash is 13.14%. Gross interest income is also not separately disclosed.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 36.82%, above the 33.33% total-assets limit. Liquidity and receivables-plus-cash pass, but the failed debt screen makes the financial and overall result fail.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Conservatively defined interest-bearing debt is 36.82% of total assets, above the 33% financial-ratio limit. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Salesforce supplies customer-relationship-management, data, cloud, analytics, commerce, collaboration and AI-agent tools. General-purpose business software can serve legitimate commercial, public-service and charitable uses, but the same tools can be deployed by customers for different purposes.

Limitation: Public revenue categories do not disclose a reproducible allocation by customer activity, industry, product use, surveillance, advertising, finance, autonomous-agent deployment, contract or prohibited category. No exact screened operating-revenue percentage can be calculated from consolidated disclosure.

Purification

The filing describes other income as primarily interest income but does not separately disclose gross interest income, and screened operating revenue is unavailable. No fixed purification percentage is prescribed.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt uses the reported 39,280 noncurrent debt balance; the filing reports no current debt on the April 30 balance sheet.
  • Cash and equivalents use 8,935. Identifiable interest-bearing securities use 2,902 marketable securities. The filing describes this portfolio as primarily corporate notes and obligations, U.S. Treasury and agency obligations, asset- and mortgage-backed securities, foreign-government obligations, covered bonds, time deposits, money-market mutual funds and municipal securities.
  • Accounts receivable use the reported 5,080 net balance. Revenue uses the matching quarter's 10,593 subscription and support revenue plus 540 professional services and other revenue.
  • Other income is 133 and is described as primarily interest income on the marketable-securities portfolio, but is not separately quantified as gross interest income; it is not inferred as a precise screening or purification numerator.
  • The filing reports Agentforce Apps, Data 360/Headless Platform/Other, professional services and geography, not a Sharia-screened allocation by customer, product use, autonomous-agent deployment, contract or prohibited activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own CRM? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track CRM and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →