CSX
CSX Corporation
Is CSX Halal?
Freight railroad — permissible logistics; quantitative debt screen fails.
What You Should Know
CSX operates rail network across Eastern US. Core freight transportation is permissible, but its March 2026 filing shows 42.66% interest-bearing debt/assets, above the examined 33.33% thresholds; coal, energy cargo and customer end uses still need qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets 42.66% exceeds examined limits
- •Coal and energy cargo mix
- •Interest income not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
18,868 / 44,232
1,109 / 44,232
2,351 / 44,232
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.66%, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity/assets is 2.51% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 5.32%. Non-compliant income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.66%, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity/assets is 2.51% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 5.32%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.66%, above the examined ratio limits; activity remains incomplete and this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored; filing-based asset ratios remain documented.
Business-activity disclosure
CSX operates a freight railroad and logistics network. Transportation is generally permissible, while coal, crude, energy cargo and customer end uses require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-activity revenue numerator across cargo and customers.
Purification
CSX does not separately disclose a complete interest-income or prohibited-activity numerator; no purification percentage is invented.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from CSX's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt includes $710 million current maturities and $18,158 million long-term debt; lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash is $964 million and short-term investments are $145 million.
- Accounts receivable are $1,387 million and quarterly revenue is $3,482 million; interest income is not separately disclosed.
- Freight rail is generally permissible, but coal, crude, energy and customer end uses require qualitative review.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →