CUBE
CubeSmart (self-storage REIT)
Is CUBE Halal?
Self-storage REIT with conventional mortgage and note financing; the latest asset-based debt screen fails.
What You Should Know
CubeSmart's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $6,598.136 million of assets, $3,505.201 million of tracked interest-bearing debt including finance leases, $7.258 million of cash, $28.524 million of receivables and $281.929 million of quarterly revenue. Debt/assets is 53.12%, above the examined asset-based limits. Self-storage operations are not inherently prohibited, but conventional REIT leverage and tenant-use uncertainty remain material.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets of 53.12% exceeds the examined limits
- •Conventional mortgages, senior notes and finance leases
- •Tenant use is not screened at product or activity level
- •Gross interest income and prohibited revenue are not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
3,505.201 / 6,598.136
7.258 / 6,598.136
35.782 / 6,598.136
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 53.12%, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity/assets is 0.11% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 0.54%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 53.12%, above the examined MSCI limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash remain below their examined limits.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 53.12%, above the examined Malaysia limit; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored; filing-based asset ratios are documented.
Business-activity disclosure
CubeSmart operates self-storage properties and related management and real-estate activities. The property business is not itself prohibited, but conventional REIT borrowing and interest expense are material and the filing does not quantify a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a scholar-approved prohibited-activity revenue numerator for all tenants, joint ventures and services.
Purification
Gross interest income and a complete prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable; no fixed purification percentage is asserted.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from CubeSmart's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Tracked debt includes $3,439.667 million of consolidated long-term debt and $65.534 million of finance-lease liabilities; no separate current debt balance is added.
- Cash is $7.258 million; no unrestricted interest-bearing securities balance is separately identified.
- Receivables combine $8.930 million of accounts receivable and $19.594 million of other receivables.
- Quarterly revenue is $281.929 million; gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →