CVX
Chevron Corp.
Is CVX Halal?
Chevron's March 2026 total-assets financial screens pass, but its filing does not disclose a reproducible Sharia-screened revenue numerator across downstream, trading, retail, chemicals and affiliates.
What You Should Know
Chevron's resource extraction, general-purpose energy and chemical activities are generally permissible at the industry level. Its current debt, liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest ratios pass. ZakatInvest retains a doubtful verdict because the screened business-revenue calculation is incomplete and because climate, environmental, community, rights, safety, derivative and downstream-practice questions require qualitative analysis rather than being erased by the balance-sheet result.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Interest-bearing debt is 13.79% of total assets
- •Disclosed interest income was 0.11% of quarterly revenue
- •Climate, methane, flaring, spills, pollution, water, biodiversity and remediation
- •Community, Indigenous, human-rights, security, labor and contractor-safety impacts
- •Commodity derivatives, commercial paper, finance leases and affiliate loans
- •Downstream, trading, retail, petrochemical and affiliate revenue is not separately screened
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
45,428 / 329,551
5,327 / 329,551
30,579 / 329,551
50 / 47,556
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 13.79%, identifiable liquidity is 1.62%, receivables plus cash is 9.28%, and disclosed interest income is 0.11%; all examined financial ratios pass. The screened business-revenue calculation remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, cash plus identifiable interest-bearing securities, and receivables plus cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is not a claim about index membership; business-activity revenue remains undisclosed.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Identifiable conventional cash and interest-bearing instruments and conservatively defined interest-bearing debt are below 33% of total assets. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue is unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Chevron explores for and produces crude oil, natural gas and natural-gas liquids; refines, transports, trades and markets fuels and lubricants; and has chemical, renewable-fuels, carbon-capture, hydrogen and other energy activities. Resource extraction and general-purpose energy and chemical production are generally permissible commercial activities under standard industry screens, while individual contracts, products, customers and practices require separate evidence.
Limitation: No material prohibited core segment is identified in the filing, but 'not identified' is not the same as a zero numerator. Consolidated disclosure does not label revenue by Sharia-screened retail merchandise, trading contract, financial arrangement, chemical product, affiliate, customer or end use, so an exact prohibited-revenue percentage cannot be reproduced.
Purification
Disclosed interest income equals 0.11% of quarterly sales and other operating revenue. Chevron does not disclose screened operating revenue across its mixed activities, so 0.11% is evidence for the income screen rather than a complete fixed purification prescription.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt is the reported 5,828 of short-term debt plus 39,600 of long-term debt. Chevron describes the combined debt and finance-lease-liability balance as approximately 45.4 billion, confirming that the sum is a conservative consolidated debt measure.
- Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 5,323 balance; the 4 of time deposits is conservatively included as identifiable interest-bearing securities.
- Accounts and notes receivable use the reported 25,256 balance. This is conservative because it includes partner, derivative, lease, buy/sell and product-exchange amounts as well as customer balances.
- Sales and other operating revenues of 47,556 and disclosed interest income of 50 use the same three-month period ended March 31, 2026.
- Chevron reports upstream and downstream revenue, equity-affiliate income and broad all-other amounts, but not a Sharia-screened revenue numerator across trading, retail, chemical products, finance, customers, affiliates, or end uses.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →