D
Dominion Energy Inc.
Is D Halal?
Electric utility — permissible service but extreme debt.
What You Should Know
Dominion's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 40.66%, liquidity/assets of 0.30% and receivables plus cash/assets of 2.72%. Dominion provides electric and gas utility service, but generation, LNG, nuclear, trust assets and financing structures require ongoing qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 40.66% of assets
- •Extremely high debt
- •Nuclear and rabbi trust assets excluded from liquidity
- •Gross interest income unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
48,208 / 118,578
351 / 118,578
3,225 / 118,578
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 40.66% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 0.30% and receivables plus cash are 2.72%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 40.66% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below their examined limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 40.66% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Dominion provides electric and gas utility service and energy infrastructure, generally permissible in principle. Generation, LNG, nuclear, regulatory, trust and financing structures require qualitative review, and the filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-activity numerator.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest income; this result is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed for the consolidated issuer and the business-activity numerator remains incomplete; no fixed purification amount is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt combines 3,557 of securities due within one year, 3,098 of short-term debt and 45,110 of long-term debt, including securitization bonds, junior subordinated notes and other long-term debt.
- Cash and cash equivalents are 351. Dominion's trust and decommissioning investments are restricted or dedicated and no separate unrestricted interest-bearing securities balance is included.
- Receivables combine 2,388 of customer receivables and 486 of other receivables; quarterly operating revenue is 5,019.
- Gross interest income is not separately disclosed in the consolidated income statement; segment interest-income disclosures are not treated as a consolidated numerator.
- Dominion's utility, generation, LNG, nuclear and regulated activities are not reduced to a school-specific prohibited-revenue numerator in the filing.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →