DG

Dollar General Corp.

DOUBTFUL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is DG Halal?

Discount retail — financial ratios pass, but product mix requires review.

What You Should Know

Dollar General's May 1, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 14.44%, liquidity/assets of 4.27% and receivables plus cash/assets of 4.27%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Discount retail is generally permissible, while alcohol, tobacco, sourcing and conventional finance require qualitative review.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Alcohol and tobacco sales
  • Supply-chain finance and conventional debt
  • Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-01; calculated 2026-07-14.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
14.44%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

4,576.408 / 31,699.653

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
4.27%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

1,353.113 / 31,699.653

Receivables + cash / assets
4.27%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

1,353.113 / 31,699.653

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 14.44% of assets, liquidity is 4.27% and receivables plus cash are 4.27%; gross interest income is unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Examined financial ratios are below the total-assets limits; this is not an index-membership claim.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Examined financial ratios are below Malaysia SAC limits; this is not an official classification.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Incomplete

A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored.

Business-activity disclosure

Dollar General operates discount stores. Retail is generally permissible, while alcohol, tobacco, product sourcing, labor and supply-chain practices require qualitative review.

Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue or gross interest-income numerator; this is not an official Sharia classification.

Purification

Gross interest income is unavailable and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Amounts are USD thousands converted to millions from Dollar General's May 1, 2026 Form 10-Q.
  • Debt is $13.302 million current plus $4,563.106 million long-term obligations; operating leases are excluded.
  • Cash is $1,353.113 million; no separately identified unrestricted interest-bearing securities are added.
  • The filing reports no material trade-receivable balance; quarterly net sales are $10,786.965 million.
  • Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own DG? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track DG and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →