DUK
Duke Energy Corp.
Is DUK Halal?
Utility and natural-gas service are generally permissible, but current debt/assets fails the examined financial screens.
What You Should Know
Duke Energy provides regulated electric and natural-gas service, generation, transmission and related infrastructure. Its March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 45.57%, identifiable liquidity/assets of 3.82% and receivables plus cash/assets of 3.07%. Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed; VIE debt, nuclear funds and derivatives remain qualitative concerns.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is 45.57% and exceeds the examined FTSE, MSCI and Malaysia limits
- •Nuclear decommissioning funds include both equity and fixed-income securities
- •VIEs, derivatives, regulatory recovery, fuel contracts and financing structures require review
- •Coal, natural-gas, nuclear, environmental and customer-affordability issues remain qualitative
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
90,245 / 198,048
7,558 / 198,048
6,087 / 198,048
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 45.57%, above the 33.333% limit; liquidity/assets is 3.82% and receivables plus cash/assets is 3.07%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 45.57%, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash remain below their limits.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 45.57%, above the examined Malaysia SAC limit; identifiable liquidity/assets is below its limit. This is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Fails
No licensed historical market-cap series is stored; the asset-based screens fail on debt/assets.
Business-activity disclosure
Duke provides regulated electric and natural-gas service, generation, transmission and related infrastructure. Utility service is generally permissible, while conventional financing, nuclear funds, derivatives, VIEs and fuel contracts require continuing review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator or separately disclose gross interest income across regulated, nonregulated and investment activities.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and the activity screen is incomplete; no fixed scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Duke's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q and rounded to the nearest million.
- Debt includes notes payable and commercial paper of $2,373 million, current maturities of long-term debt of $7,395 million and long-term debt of $80,477 million; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash is $2,140 million. Interest-bearing securities use $5,418 million of disclosed corporate, municipal, government and other debt securities in investment portfolios; equity securities are excluded.
- Receivables are $3,947 million and quarterly operating revenue is $9,178 million.
- The filing includes VIE-related debt in consolidated balances; non-recourse treatment can differ by methodology. Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →