EFX
Equifax Inc.
Is EFX Halal?
Credit-information core business and a 44.45% debt/assets screen.
What You Should Know
Equifax's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 44.45%, liquidity/assets 1.54%, and receivables plus cash/assets 10.51%. Equifax's core credit-reporting, scoring and verification services support conventional lending decisions; gross interest income and a prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Core credit-reporting and scoring services facilitate conventional lending
- •Debt screen fails at 44.45% of assets
- •Gross interest income and activity revenue not quantified
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
5,308.1 / 11,942
183.4 / 11,942
1,255.3 / 11,942
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 44.45% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 1.54% and receivables plus cash are 10.51%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 44.45% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash remain below their limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 44.45% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, while identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Equifax is a credit-information and workforce-solutions provider. Its core consumer and commercial credit-reporting, scoring and verification services support conventional lending decisions, creating a material qualitative riba concern.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a scholar-approved prohibited-revenue allocation for credit-reporting, scoring, verification and adjacent workforce-solutions activities.
Purification
Gross interest income and a scholar-approved prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $1,252.5 million of short-term debt and current maturities with $4,055.6 million of long-term debt.
- Cash uses $183.4 million of cash and cash equivalents; the filing does not separately identify a material interest-bearing security balance suitable for this input.
- Trade accounts receivable are $1,071.9 million and quarterly revenue is $1,648.9 million.
- The filing reports interest expense but does not separately disclose gross interest income usable as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →