ENT
Entain PLC
Is ENT Halal?
Gambling company — Ladbrokes, bwin. Maysir.
What You Should Know
Entain operates Ladbrokes, bwin, and other betting brands. Core gambling business is haram. Its FY2025 annual report shows £9,396.3 million of assets, £3,672.5 million of interest-bearing loans and borrowings, and £5,259.4 million of revenue; the gambling activity screen fails independently of the financial ratios.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Gambling (maysir)
- •Alcohol at betting shops
- •Online casino
- •Debt/assets is 39.08% under the examined asset screen
- •Customer balances and restricted cash require continuing review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on Annual Report figures for the period ended 2025-12-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
3,672.5 / 9,396.3
554.1 / 9,396.3
1,197.8 / 9,396.3
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 39.08%, above the examined 33.333% limit; the gambling business screen also fails.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is above the examined MSCI total-assets limit and the wagering and gaming business fails.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is above the examined Malaysia 33% limit and the gambling business fails; this is not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored.
Business-activity disclosure
Entain operates sports betting and online and retail gaming brands including Ladbrokes, bwin, Coral, PartyPoker and BetCity. Gambling and maysir are explicitly prohibited, so the core business screen fails.
Limitation: The annual report presents net gaming revenue and revenue by geography and product, but the full operating model is wagering and gaming; treating total revenue as a prohibited-activity proxy avoids inventing a smaller numerator.
Purification
The core business screen fails because revenue is generated by wagering and gaming; purification is not treated as a cure for a prohibited business, and gross non-compliant income is not separately disclosed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are GBP millions from Entain's audited 2025 consolidated financial statements.
- Interest-bearing loans and borrowings are current £25.4 million plus non-current £3,647.1 million; lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are £554.1 million, including £203.8 million restricted for customers; no separately identified interest-bearing securities are added.
- Trade and other receivables total £643.7 million, including finance-lease receivables and tax and payment-service-provider balances.
- Revenue is £5,259.4 million. Sports betting, casino, gaming, poker and related wagering are treated as a prohibited-activity proxy because gambling is the group's core business; gross non-compliant income is not separately disclosed.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →