EOG
EOG Resources Inc.
Is EOG Halal?
Oil and gas exploration is generally permissible, but the latest asset-based record remains incomplete.
What You Should Know
EOG's March 31, 2026 filing reports 14.86% interest-bearing debt/assets, 7.21% cash/assets and 13.95% receivables-plus-cash/assets. The available ratios pass, while interest income, derivative treatment and market-cap methods remain unquantified.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Commodity derivatives and hedging require qualitative review
- •Interest income is not separately disclosed
- •Environmental and extraction considerations vary by scholar
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
7,931 / 53,378
3,849 / 53,378
7,446 / 53,378
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 14.86%, liquidity/assets is 7.21% and receivables plus cash/assets is 13.95%; available ratios pass but the income input is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The examined total-assets ratios pass; the business and market-cap records remain incomplete. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and identifiable liquidity/assets are below the examined limits; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed reproducible market-cap history is not stored; a spot estimate is not substituted.
Business-activity disclosure
EOG explores and produces crude oil, condensate, natural gas liquids and natural gas. Natural-resource extraction is generally permissible, while derivative and ancillary activities require continued qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a universal prohibited-revenue taxonomy or provide a reproducible market-cap denominator history.
Purification
Interest income is not separately disclosed; investors should seek qualified guidance and ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from EOG's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is current portion of long-term debt of 27 plus long-term debt of 7,904; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash is 3,849 and accounts receivable is 3,597.
- Quarterly revenue is 6,921.
- The filing does not isolate a universal prohibited-revenue or interest-income numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →