EQT
EQT Corp.
Is EQT Halal?
Natural gas producer — financial ratios pass, but fracking and activity concerns remain.
What You Should Know
EQT's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 14.48%, liquidity/assets of 0.78% and receivables plus cash/assets of 3.07%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Natural-gas production, hydraulic fracturing, methane, water and infrastructure contracts require qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Fracking, methane and water impacts
- •Natural-gas infrastructure and derivative contracts
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
6,036.457 / 41,692.278
326.568 / 41,692.278
1,279.882 / 41,692.278
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 14.48% of total assets, liquidity is 0.78% and receivables plus cash are 3.07%; gross interest income is unavailable, so the full activity and income assessment remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined Malaysia SAC financial limits; this is not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and business classification remains incomplete, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
EQT produces natural gas and operates related midstream and energy-transition activities. Natural-gas production can be permissible, while hydraulic fracturing, methane, water, infrastructure contracts and conventional financing require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest-income numerator; this is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD thousands converted to USD millions from EQT's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt is $6,036.457 million total debt, including $507.915 million current portion; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $326.568 million; derivative assets and other investments are not added as interest-bearing securities without a separately identified debt-security balance.
- Net accounts receivable are $953.314 million and first-quarter revenue is $3,378.736 million.
- The consolidated filing does not separately disclose gross interest income or a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →