EVRG
Evergy Inc.
Is EVRG Halal?
Electric utility — permissible service but the current debt screen fails.
What You Should Know
Evergy's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 46.04%, liquidity/assets of 0.05% and receivables plus cash/assets of 1.80%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Kansas and Missouri electric utility service remains generally permissible, while nuclear generation, collateralized financing, environmental liabilities and regulatory structures require qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 46.04% of assets
- •Nuclear generation and decommissioning-trust structures
- •Collateralized notes and utility financing
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
15,876.3 / 34,481.5
18.4 / 34,481.5
621.6 / 34,481.5
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 46.04% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 0.05% and receivables plus cash are 1.80%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 46.04% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 46.04% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Evergy provides regulated electric generation, transmission and distribution in Kansas and Missouri. Utility service is generally permissible, while nuclear generation, wholesale power, fuel and market contracts, collateralized financing, environmental liabilities and regulatory structures require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest-income numerator; this is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Evergy's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt includes $367.0 million of current maturities, $1,960.3 million of notes payable and commercial paper, $402.0 million of collateralized note payable and $13,147.0 million of long-term debt; operating obligations are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $18.4 million; the $995.3 million nuclear decommissioning trust and other restricted assets are excluded from unrestricted securities and liquidity.
- Receivables combine $201.2 million of net receivables and $402.0 million of accounts receivable pledged as collateral; first-quarter operating revenue is $1,443.7 million.
- The consolidated filing does not separately disclose gross interest income or a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →