EXC
Exelon Corp.
Is EXC Halal?
Electric utility with nuclear plants — permissible service but the current debt screen fails.
What You Should Know
Exelon's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 43.59%, liquidity/assets of 0.61% and receivables plus cash/assets of 4.60%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Electric generation, transmission and distribution remain generally permissible, while nuclear operations, energy-market contracts, environmental liabilities and financing structures require qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 43.59% of assets
- •Nuclear generation and power-market contracts
- •Restricted cash and financing-trust assets excluded from liquidity
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
51,240 / 117,545
713 / 117,545
5,405 / 117,545
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 43.59% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 0.61% and receivables plus cash are 4.60%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 43.59% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 43.59% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Exelon provides electric generation, transmission and distribution, with substantial nuclear operations. Electricity service and nuclear generation are generally permissible under many approaches, while nuclear safety, environmental liabilities, power-market contracts, regulatory structures, financing and energy-marketing activities require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest-income numerator; this record is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Exelon's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt includes $665 million of short-term borrowings, $2,326 million of long-term debt due within one year, $47,859 million of long-term debt and $390 million of debt to financing trusts; operating obligations are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $713 million; restricted cash of $560 million and investments not separately identified as unrestricted interest-bearing securities are excluded.
- Accounts receivable combines customer accounts receivable, net of allowance, of $3,114 million and other accounts receivable, net of allowance, of $1,578 million; first-quarter revenue is $7,242 million.
- The consolidated filing reports interest expense, net and other income but does not separately disclose gross interest income or a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →