FIS
Fidelity National Information Services
Is FIS Halal?
Financial technology with bank exposure and a 48.42% debt/assets screen.
What You Should Know
FIS's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 48.42%, liquidity/assets 1.74% and receivables plus cash/assets 7.21%. Financial technology and payment services can be permissible, but its banking software supports conventional lending workflows; gross interest income and activity revenue are not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 48.42% of assets
- •Banking technology can support riba-based lending
- •Gross interest income and activity revenue not quantified
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
21,056 / 43,484
755 / 43,484
3,137 / 43,484
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 48.42% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 1.74% and receivables plus cash are 7.21%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 48.42% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash remain below their limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 48.42% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, while identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
FIS provides financial technology, payments and banking software. These services support permissible payments but also serve conventional banks and lending workflows, creating a material mixed-use qualitative question.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for conventional-bank technology, lending-adjacent services or customer end uses.
Purification
Gross interest income and a scholar-approved prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $4,164 million of short-term borrowings, $101 million of current long-term debt and $16,791 million of long-term debt.
- Cash uses $755 million of cash and cash equivalents. Settlement assets and settlement receivables are operational pass-through balances and are excluded from unrestricted interest-bearing securities.
- Accounts receivable combines $2,269 million of trade receivables and $113 million of other receivables; quarterly revenue is $3,295 million.
- The filing reports interest expense, net, but does not separately disclose gross interest income usable as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →