FIX
Comfort Systems USA, Inc.
Is FIX Halal?
General-purpose mechanical and electrical building-services contractor with low debt and disclosed interest income below the examined income benchmark; methodology results differ on the receivables ratio.
What You Should Know
Comfort Systems' March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $6,938.346 million of total assets, $39.079 million of financial debt, $1,050.164 million of cash, $64.763 million of Treasury bills, $3,051.225 million of receivables, $2,865.332 million of quarterly revenue and $8.512 million of interest income. ZakatInvest's current contextual calculations are debt/assets 0.56%, liquidity 16.07%, receivables plus cash/assets 59.11% and interest income/revenue 0.30%. Mechanical and electrical contracting remains generally permissible at the activity level, but the stricter MSCI receivables test fails and end-customer revenue is not separately disclosed. This is a current ZakatInvest calculation, not an index-membership claim.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Receivables plus cash/assets is 59.11%, above the stricter MSCI total-assets receivables limit but within the broader contextual range used by other methods
- •Disclosed interest income is 0.30% of quarterly revenue; purification remains methodology- and scholar-specific
- •Projects serve mixed end markets including data centers, semiconductors, healthcare, education, government and offices; the filing does not quantify downstream use
- •Construction-contract estimation, customer concentration, labor, bonding, safety and execution require continuing review
- •Feyen Zylstra and Meisner acquisitions change the operating perimeter and should be reflected in future screens
- •Market-cap denominator methods are not calculated without a licensed historical market-cap series
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
39.079 / 6,938.346
1,114.927 / 6,938.346
4,101.389 / 6,938.346
8.512 / 2,865.332
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 0.56%, liquidity is 16.07%, receivables plus cash/assets is 59.11% and disclosed interest income/revenue is 0.30%; the receivables-plus-cash result exceeds the examined FTSE limit. End-customer revenue classification remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt, liquidity and interest income pass the examined limits, but receivables plus cash/assets is 59.11%, above the stricter MSCI total-assets receivables limit. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 0.56%, liquidity is 16.07% and disclosed interest income/revenue is 0.30%; the examined ratios pass. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Comfort Systems provides general-purpose mechanical and electrical contracting, HVAC, plumbing, piping, controls, off-site construction, monitoring and fire-protection services across commercial, industrial and institutional facilities. These services are generally permissible at the activity level.
Limitation: The filing does not classify revenue by end-customer industry, project financing, facility use, defense exposure or other downstream attributes into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
Purification
Disclosed interest income is 0.30% of quarterly revenue. A screened end-customer revenue numerator is not separately disclosed, so this record does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Inputs use Comfort Systems' March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions converted from the filing's thousands presentation.
- Debt uses $0.025 million of current maturities plus $39.054 million of long-term debt. Operating lease liabilities and contingent earn-out obligations are retained as qualitative context rather than silently treated as conventional debt.
- Interest-bearing securities use $64.763 million of U.S. Treasury bills with maturities greater than 90 days. Cash and cash equivalents of $1,050.164 million are not double-counted as securities.
- Receivables use billed accounts receivable of $2,805.270 million, unbilled accounts receivable of $137.070 million and other receivables of $108.885 million.
- Quarterly revenue is $2,865.332 million and disclosed interest income is $8.512 million. The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for mixed end-customer industries.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →