GEV
GE Vernova Inc.
Is GEV Halal?
Energy infrastructure with a generally permissible core activity; known total-assets ratios pass, but gross interest income and screened end-use revenue are unavailable.
What You Should Know
GE Vernova reports Power, Electrification and Wind equipment and services. Its March 2026 debt-to-assets ratio is 3.85%, liquidity is 13.45% and receivables plus cash are 26.10%; the FTSE income input and prohibited-revenue numerator cannot be reproduced from the filing.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed from net financial income
- •Nuclear, Financial Services and dual-use customer or end-use revenue is not separately quantified
- •Prolec GE acquisition and new senior notes materially changed the balance sheet
- •Environmental, safety, decommissioning and legacy GE-liability review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
2,914 / 75,612
10,172 / 75,612
19,740 / 75,612
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 3.85%, identifiable liquidity is 13.45% and receivables plus cash are 26.10%, all below the examined FTSE limits. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, so the income screen remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, identifiable liquidity and receivables plus cash pass the examined total-assets limits. The business-activity and gross-income evidence remains incomplete; this is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 3.85% and identifiable conventional liquidity is 13.45%, below the examined 33% limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
GE Vernova designs, manufactures and services energy infrastructure through Power, Electrification and Wind. Its disclosed activities include gas, nuclear and hydro technologies; transmission, grid integration, power conversion, storage and grid software; and onshore and offshore wind turbines and blades. Energy equipment and services are generally permissible industrial activities, while specific technology, customer and end-use questions require separate evidence.
Limitation: The Form 10-Q reports segment and business-unit revenue but does not allocate a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for nuclear activity, government or defense end use, Financial Services investments, customer purpose or other categories a chosen Sharia screen may treat differently.
Purification
GE Vernova reports net interest and other financial income (charges) of 28, but the line combines fees, borrowing costs, cash-management items and interest earned on cash and short-term investments. Gross interest income and screened operating revenue are not separately disclosed, so this record does not prescribe a fixed purification amount.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt uses gross borrowings of 2,914 before the reported 56 unamortized discount and issuance-cost deduction: 2,600 of senior-note principal plus 314 of other borrowings and finance leases.
- Cash and cash equivalents use the reported cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash balance of 10,172. The filing identifies 0.4 billion as restricted-use cash and does not separately report a marketable-securities balance, so interest-bearing securities are set to zero rather than inferred.
- Receivables use total current receivables of 9,568, including customer receivables, tax receivables, supplier advances and other receivables, net of the reported allowance.
- Revenue uses total revenue of 9,339 for the three months ended March 31, 2026. The filing reports Power revenue of 4,971, Electrification revenue of 2,959, Wind revenue of 1,432 and eliminations and other of negative 25.
- The filing reports interest and other financial income (charges), net of 28, and says the line includes fees on cash management, interest on borrowings and interest earned on cash balances and short-term investments. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, so no gross non-compliant-income numerator is inferred.
- GE Vernova reports energy-equipment and services segments, but public disclosure does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator by nuclear, government, defense, customer end use, Financial Services activity or other screened category.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →