GWW

W.W. Grainger Inc.

HALAL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is GWW Halal?

Industrial MRO distribution is generally permissible; product mix and methodology differences require continuing review.

What You Should Know

W.W. Grainger's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports debt/assets of 25.45%, cash/assets of 7.34% and receivables plus cash/assets of 35.07%. Grainger distributes maintenance, repair and operating products through its North American and Japanese businesses. The filing reports customer industries including manufacturing and government, but says product-category sales are impractical to disclose because the assortment changes frequently. Malaysia SAC financial ratios pass, the examined MSCI total-assets receivables test fails, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.

⚠️ Concerns

  • MSCI total-assets receivables plus cash is 35.07%, above its examined 33.33% limit
  • Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, leaving the FTSE income screen incomplete
  • Dynamic product assortment and government/defense-facility customers require continuing qualitative review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
25.45%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

2,411 / 9,473

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
7.34%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

695 / 9,473

Receivables + cash / assets
35.07%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

3,322 / 9,473

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 25.45%, cash is 7.34% and receivables plus cash are 35.07%, below the examined FTSE asset limits; gross non-compliant income is not separately disclosed, so the FTSE income input remains incomplete.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 25.45% and liquidity is 7.34%, but receivables plus cash are 35.07%, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit of 33.33%. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 25.45% and liquidity is 7.34%, below the examined Malaysia SAC financial limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security; product-level business revenue remains unavailable.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

W.W. Grainger is a broad-line distributor of maintenance, repair and operating products and services, primarily in North America and Japan. Tools, safety equipment, industrial supplies and facility products are generally permissible commerce, while a dynamic assortment and customer end use require continuing review.

Limitation: The filing says product-category sales are impractical to provide because inventory changes frequently and online assortment is dynamic. It reports customer industries, including 15% government and 30% manufacturing, but does not establish a universally accepted prohibited-revenue numerator.

Purification

Grainger reports net interest expense but does not separately disclose gross interest income or prescribe a scholar-approved purification percentage. Readers should follow the qualified scholar or methodology they use rather than applying an invented fixed rate.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Inputs use W.W. Grainger's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions as presented in the filing.
  • Debt uses the reported $2,411 million total debt, including $2,409 million of long-term debt and $2 million of current maturities. Operating lease liabilities are not entered as conventional debt.
  • Cash uses $695 million of cash and cash equivalents. The filing does not provide a separately identified fixed-income securities balance for this screen, so no securities amount is added.
  • Receivables use the reported $2,627 million accounts receivable balance.
  • Quarterly net sales are $4,742 million. The filing reports net interest expense but does not separately disclose gross non-compliant or interest income, so the FTSE income input is unavailable.
  • Grainger states that its dynamic MRO assortment makes product-category sales impractical to disclose; no universal prohibited-revenue numerator is estimated.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own GWW? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track GWW and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →