HCA

HCA Healthcare Inc.

HALAL — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is HCA Halal?

Hospital operator with a generally permissible healthcare core; current total-assets debt screens fail.

What You Should Know

HCA operates hospitals, surgery centers, endoscopy centers and outpatient services. Debt/assets are 78.15%, above the examined total-assets limits; liquidity is 2.16% and receivables plus cash are 19.96%. Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue allocation are unavailable.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt/assets are 78.15% and exceed examined total-assets limits
  • Quarterly interest expense is $584 million; gross interest income is not separately disclosed
  • Insurance-subsidiary debt securities and money-market funds require methodology-specific treatment
  • Patient receivables and reimbursement concentration are material
  • Elective, behavioral-health, pharmacy and facility-level activity is not fully disaggregated
  • Patient safety, privacy, malpractice, staffing and charity-care obligations require continuing review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
78.15%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

48,023 / 61,450

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
2.16%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

1,327 / 61,450

Receivables + cash / assets
19.96%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

12,264 / 61,450

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 78.15%, above the examined FTSE 33.333% asset limit. Liquidity is 2.16% and receivables plus cash are 19.96%; gross interest income is unavailable, but the debt failure is decisive.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 78.15%, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit. Liquidity is 2.16% and receivables plus cash are 19.96%. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim; business and income allocation remain incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 78.15%, above the examined 33% Malaysia SAC financial limit; identifiable liquidity is 2.16%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue remains unavailable.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

HCA owns and operates hospitals, surgery centers, endoscopy centers and outpatient and ancillary healthcare services. Medical care is generally permissible and socially beneficial; the filing does not disclose a conventional lending or financial-services segment.

Limitation: The filing reports consolidated healthcare revenue and facility operations but does not quantify a universal prohibited-revenue numerator by elective procedure, behavioral-health service, pharmacy, payer, patient end use or affiliate activity.

Purification

HCA does not separately disclose gross interest income and does not provide a universal activity-level allocation for every healthcare service or facility. No fixed purification percentage is prescribed here; readers should follow the scholar or methodology they use.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Debt uses HCA's disclosed $48.023 billion total debt: $3.650 billion of commercial paper and $44.373 billion of long-term debt net of issuance costs and discounts. Operating lease obligations are not entered as conventional debt.
  • Cash uses $940 million of cash and cash equivalents. The balance sheet separately reports $387 million of insurance-subsidiary investments; these include debt securities and money-market funds and are entered as interest-bearing securities without double-counting cash.
  • Receivables use $11.324 billion of accounts receivable. HCA's patient-revenue cycle, insurance reimbursement and government-program receivables are not treated as a financing arm.
  • Revenue uses $19.109 billion for the quarter ended March 31, 2026. HCA operates hospitals, surgery centers, endoscopy centers and extensive outpatient and ancillary services.
  • The filing reports $584 million of interest expense but does not separately disclose gross interest income. The income input is therefore unavailable rather than estimated.
  • HCA's healthcare services are generally permissible, but the filing does not quantify every elective, behavioral-health, pharmacy, payer, patient or facility activity into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own HCA? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track HCA and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →