HD
The Home Depot Inc.
Is HD Halal?
Home Depot's May 2026 debt is 49.59% of total assets, above the examined total-assets limits; its filing also does not disclose a reproducible Sharia-screened business-revenue numerator.
What You Should Know
Home Depot's retail sale and installation of building materials, tools, lawn and garden, decor, repair and maintenance products are generally permissible activities. Its current debt screen fails, however, and public reporting does not classify revenue by a Sharia-screened product, service, credit, rental, supplier-finance or other activity. ZakatInvest therefore classifies HD as doubtful rather than retaining an unsupported universal halal verdict or inventing a prohibited-revenue percentage.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Interest-bearing debt is 49.59% of total assets
- •Interest income and other is reported only as a combined net amount
- •Credit offerings, trade credit, commercial paper, senior notes, interest-rate swaps and supplier-finance arrangements require methodology-specific review
- •Product, service, rental, installation, trade-distribution and supplier revenue is not disclosed as a Sharia-screened numerator
- •Product safety, chemical exposure, responsible sourcing, labor, privacy, environmental and community impacts require qualitative review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-03; calculated 2026-07-13.
53,509 / 107,904
1,601 / 107,904
8,225 / 107,904
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.59% of total assets and exceeds the 33.333% limit. Identifiable liquidity is 1.48% and receivables plus cash is 7.62%, but the debt failure determines the financial result; gross interest income and screened business revenue are not separately disclosed.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.59% and exceeds the examined 33.33% total-assets limit. Liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined limits, but debt determines the result; public revenue disclosure remains insufficient for a complete business screen.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.59% and exceeds the examined 33% total-assets limit. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Home Depot retails home-improvement products, building materials, lawn and garden, decor and maintenance, repair and operations products; it also provides installation, tool and equipment rental, and SRS specialty-trade distribution. Building, repair, maintenance, landscaping and general-purpose tools and materials are generally permissible commercial activities, while specific goods, services and contracts require evidence rather than a portfolio-wide assumption.
Limitation: The filing provides broad product lines and total product and service sales, not a Sharia-screened classification of merchandise, service, rental, credit, supplier-finance or other revenue. The presence or absence of a separately disclosed category cannot establish a zero prohibited-revenue numerator, so an exact business-activity percentage cannot be reproduced from consolidated disclosure.
Purification
The filing does not separately disclose gross interest income; its combined net interest-income-and-other line cannot be converted into a gross non-compliant-income numerator. Screened operating revenue is also unavailable, so ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed purification rate.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt is the reported 3,503 of short-term commercial-paper borrowings plus 5,178 of current installments of long-term debt plus 44,828 of long-term debt, excluding current installments. This conservatively includes the 292 current and 2,640 long-term finance-lease liabilities that the filing includes within the long-term-debt captions.
- Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 1,601 balance. The filing does not separately identify a balance of interest-bearing securities for this screen.
- Receivables use the reported 6,624 net receivables balance, including card, rebate, customer and other receivables. The filing says card receivables are payments due from financial institutions for settled credit- and debit-card transactions.
- Net sales of 41,765 use the three months ended May 3, 2026. The filing reports interest income and other as a combined net amount of negative 7 and interest expense of 611; it does not separately disclose gross interest income, so no income-screen numerator is inferred.
- The filing reports broad building-materials, decor, hardlines and SRS sales, plus product and service sales, but not a Sharia-screened numerator for individual merchandise, installation, rental, trade-credit, card, supplier-finance or other activities.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →