HIMS

Hims & Hers Health

HALAL — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is HIMS Halal?

Telehealth and healthcare platform with a generally permissible core activity, but the current total-assets debt screen fails.

What You Should Know

Hims & Hers provides telehealth consultations and prescription delivery. Its March 2026 debt-to-assets ratio is 42.97%, above the examined 33%–33.333% limits; product-level revenue classification is not disclosed.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Convertible notes are above examined total-assets debt limits
  • Product-level revenue is not disclosed across sexual-health, contraception and weight-management categories
  • Interest income and bond investments require ongoing review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
42.97%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

974.106 / 2,267.043

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
33.12%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

750.875 / 2,267.043

Receivables + cash / assets
16.40%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

371.886 / 2,267.043

Non-compliant income / revenue
1.30%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

7.9 / 608.104

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Interest-bearing debt is 42.97% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit. Liquidity is 33.12%, receivables plus cash are 16.40% and disclosed interest income is 1.30%; the debt result drives the financial failure.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Interest-bearing debt is 42.97% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit. Liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits, but the debt result fails the financial screen.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Interest-bearing debt is 42.97% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is 33.12%, just above that same limit. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored.

Business-activity disclosure

Hims & Hers operates a direct-to-consumer telehealth platform that connects users with clinicians and delivers prescription and over-the-counter products. Healthcare and treatment of medical conditions are generally permissible, while product-level and use-context questions require separate qualitative review.

Limitation: The filing reports total revenue and broad business metrics but does not allocate revenue by product, medical indication, contraception, sexual-health, cosmetic, mental-health or weight-management category in a way that produces a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator.

Purification

The filing discloses 7.9 of interest income, or 1.30% of quarterly revenue, but this record does not prescribe a fixed purification amount because the preferred scholarly treatment of the company's mixed product revenue and investment income is not determined by a single universal standard.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt uses the 974.106 net carrying amount of the 0% 2030 Convertible Notes. No loans were outstanding under the revolving credit facility at March 31, 2026; operating leases and earn-out liabilities are not treated as interest-bearing debt in this input.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use 222.266. Interest-bearing securities use 528.609 of short-term available-for-sale investments; the filing identifies government, government-agency and corporate-bond holdings.
  • Receivables use the reported net balance of 149.620. The filing does not provide a separate trade-receivable subtotal for this screen.
  • Quarterly revenue uses 608.104 for the three months ended March 31, 2026.
  • The filing separately reports 7.9 of interest income and 2.9 of interest expense for the quarter; the gross interest-income line is used as the disclosed non-compliant-income input, without netting it against interest expense.
  • Public reporting does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator across sexual-health, contraception, cosmetic, mental-health, weight-management and other product categories.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own HIMS? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track HIMS and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →