HPQ

HP Inc.

HALAL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is HPQ Halal?

Personal computing and printing hardware with a generally permissible core business; known asset-based ratios pass while interest-income and activity data remain unavailable.

What You Should Know

HP's April 2026 filing reports $42.936 billion of assets, $9.666 billion of total debt, $3.703 billion of cash, $125 million of available-for-sale investments, $6.125 billion of receivables and $14.408 billion of quarterly revenue. Debt/assets are 22.51%, liquidity/assets 8.92% and receivables plus cash/assets 22.89%; interest income is not separately disclosed.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Interest income is not separately disclosed, leaving the FTSE income test incomplete
  • Personal Systems and Printing revenue is broad and does not quantify customer industry, government or defense end use
  • Products include hardware, supplies, subscriptions and software licenses; services include support and maintenance
  • Total debt, operating leases, supplier-finance arrangements and derivatives require continuing capital-structure review
  • Supply-chain labor, component sourcing, tariffs, e-waste, data security and AI-enabled devices require continuing review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
22.51%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

9,666 / 42,936

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
8.92%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

3,828 / 42,936

Receivables + cash / assets
22.89%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

9,828 / 42,936

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 22.51%, identifiable liquidity is 8.92% and receivables plus cash is 22.89%; those known measures are below the examined FTSE limits, but the filing does not separately disclose interest income and business activity remains incomplete.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 22.51%, identifiable liquidity is 8.92% and receivables plus cash is 22.89%, below the examined MSCI total-assets limits. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim, and business allocation remains incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 22.51% and identifiable liquidity is 8.92%, below the examined 33% Malaysia SAC financial limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue remains unavailable.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

HP provides personal systems, printing, supplies, software licenses, support services and subscriptions. Computing and printing hardware and ordinary business support are generally permissible commerce, while product categories, customer end use, software use and services contracts require continuing qualitative review.

Limitation: The filing reports Personal Systems and Printing revenue and separates products from services, but does not isolate revenue by customer industry, government or defense end use, software use, advertising, contract type, product category or other potentially prohibited activity into a universal numerator.

Purification

The filing does not separately disclose interest income for the quarter and does not provide a universal screened operating-revenue allocation by product, customer or end use. No fixed purification percentage is prescribed here; readers should follow the scholar or methodology they use.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Debt uses HP's reported $9.666 billion total debt: $810 million of current debt and $8.856 billion of long-term debt. Operating lease liabilities are not added to the conventional debt input, but remain a qualitative consideration.
  • Cash uses the reported $3.703 billion of cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash. The filing separately reports $125 million of available-for-sale investments, including financial-institution instruments and marketable securities or mutual funds; these are included as interest-bearing securities without double-counting cash equivalents.
  • Receivables use the reported $6.125 billion net accounts receivable balance. Revenue uses $14.408 billion of total net revenue for the three months ended April 30, 2026: $13.563 billion of products and $845 million of services.
  • The filing reports interest expense, factoring costs and other net items, but does not separately disclose interest income for the quarter. No estimated interest-income numerator is entered.
  • HP reports products revenue from hardware, supplies, subscriptions and software licenses and services revenue from support and other offerings, but does not quantify a universal prohibited-revenue numerator by product, customer, contract or end use. No zero-haram-revenue claim is entered.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own HPQ? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track HPQ and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →