INGR
Ingredion Incorporated
Is INGR Halal?
Ingredient solutions provider with generally permissible business.
What You Should Know
Ingredion produces starches, sweeteners, and nutrition ingredients for food and industrial use. Core business is generally permissible. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $7,928 million of assets, $1,825 million of interest-bearing debt, $914 million of cash, $10 million of identified interest-bearing securities, $1,358 million of receivables and $1,792 million of quarterly net sales. Debt/assets is 23.02%, liquidity/assets is 11.65% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 28.66%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed, and brewing, industrial and customer end uses remain qualitative.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Brewing and alcohol-related customer exposure
- •Industrial and animal-nutrition applications
- •Monitor ingredient sources for haram derivatives
- •Gross interest income not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
1,825 / 7,928
924 / 7,928
2,272 / 7,928
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 23.02%, liquidity/assets is 11.65% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 28.66%, below the examined limits, but gross interest income is unavailable; activity also remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 23.02%, liquidity/assets is 11.65% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 28.66%, below the examined MSCI limits; activity remains qualitative.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 23.02% and liquidity/assets is 11.65%; activity remains incomplete and this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored; filing-based asset ratios remain documented.
Business-activity disclosure
Ingredion transforms plant-based materials into ingredients for food, beverage, animal nutrition, brewing and industrial markets. The core ingredients activity is generally permissible, while brewing, customer end uses and ingredient sourcing require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not allocate every ingredient, customer or brewing and industrial end use into a universal prohibited-activity numerator.
Purification
Ingredion does not separately disclose gross interest income or a complete prohibited-activity numerator; no purification percentage is invented.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Ingredion's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Total debt is $1,825 million, including short-term borrowings and long-term debt; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $914 million, short-term investments are $4 million and marketable securities are $6 million; the latter two are included as interest-bearing securities.
- Accounts receivable, net are $1,358 million and quarterly net sales are $1,792 million. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
- Ingredion's ingredient solutions serve food, beverage, animal nutrition, brewing and industrial markets; product and customer end uses remain qualitative.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →