JNJ

Johnson & Johnson

HALAL — FINANCIAL SCREENS PASSstock

Is JNJ Halal?

Medicines and medical technologies are generally permissible, and the March 2026 total-assets financial ratios pass.

What You Should Know

Johnson & Johnson now operates through Innovative Medicine and MedTech; Kenvue has been separate since 2023. Its current debt, liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest ratios pass the examined total-assets methods. Product-level screened revenue is not disclosed, so the halal label preserves ZakatInvest's qualitative judgment while ingredients, research, pricing, safety, litigation and purification remain under review.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Product-specific ingredients, manufacturing inputs, cell lines and research methods require evidence
  • Disclosed gross interest income was 0.95% of quarterly sales
  • Medicine and device pricing, access, patents, reimbursement and marketing
  • Talc litigation, opioid settlements, product safety and remediation
  • Clinical trials, animal research, supply chain, privacy and cybersecurity

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-29; calculated 2026-07-12.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
27.37%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

54,987 / 200,894

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
10.98%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

22,051 / 200,894

Receivables + cash / assets
19.62%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

39,409 / 200,894

Non-compliant income / revenue
0.95%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

229 / 24,062

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 27.37%, cash plus separately classified marketable debt securities is 10.98%, receivables plus cash is 19.62%, and disclosed gross interest income is 0.95%. The financial ratios pass, but a screened business-revenue numerator is unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

The examined total-assets financial ratios pass. Overall classification remains incomplete because product- and practice-level screened operating revenue is not separately disclosed.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

The examined financial ratios pass, but a screened business-revenue percentage is unavailable. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Johnson & Johnson develops and sells medicines and medical technologies through Innovative Medicine and MedTech. Activities that prevent disease, treat illness and preserve life are generally permissible and socially beneficial. Kenvue has been separate since 2023, so legacy consumer-health products are not treated as current JNJ operating revenue.

Limitation: The filing does not classify revenue by Sharia-screened ingredient, excipient, cell line, manufacturing input, research method, licensing arrangement, royalty, product use, marketing practice, or other potentially non-compliant activity. No prohibited core segment is identified, but an exact prohibited-revenue percentage cannot be proven from consolidated disclosure.

Purification

Disclosed gross interest income equals 0.95% of quarterly sales. Screened operating revenue remains unavailable, so this ratio is evidence for the income screen rather than a complete fixed purification prescription.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt is the sum of 17,460 of loans and notes payable plus 37,527 of long-term debt.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 21,688 balance. It already includes money-market funds, reverse repurchase agreements, time deposits and available-for-sale debt securities with original maturities of three months or less.
  • Interest-bearing securities add only the separate 363 current marketable-securities balance, avoiding double counting securities already classified within cash equivalents.
  • Receivables use the reported 17,721 net trade-accounts-receivable balance.
  • Sales and the disclosed 229 of gross interest income use the same fiscal first quarter ended March 29, 2026. Net interest expense was 43 after interest expense, but gross interest income is used for the non-compliant-income screen.
  • Johnson & Johnson reported 15,426 of Innovative Medicine sales and 8,636 of MedTech sales, but does not provide a Sharia-screened numerator for product ingredients, manufacturing inputs, licensing, royalties, research methods, marketing, or other potentially non-compliant activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own JNJ? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track JNJ and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →