KMT
Kennametal Inc.
Is KMT Halal?
Metal-cutting tooling and materials maker with known financial ratios passing; gross interest income and activity classification remain incomplete.
What You Should Know
Kennametal Inc. manufactures metal-cutting tools, tooling systems and wear-resistant products for metalworking, aerospace, energy and industrial customers. Its March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports assets of $2,730.747 million, interest-bearing debt of $614.144 million, cash of $106.850 million and accounts receivable of $334.429 million. Debt/assets is 22.49%, liquidity/assets is 3.91% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 16.16%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. The known financial ratios pass the examined MSCI and Malaysia proxies, with FTSE income remaining incomplete, while defense and end-use activity remains qualitative.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Known debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash ratios pass the examined limits
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed
- •Aerospace, defense and energy customers are mixed with general engineering demand
- •Restructuring and global manufacturing obligations require review
- •Re-screen after the next filing or a material end-use change
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-15.
614.144 / 2,730.747
106.85 / 2,730.747
441.279 / 2,730.747
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known debt/assets is 22.49%, liquidity is 3.91% and receivables plus cash is 16.16%, below examined FTSE limits, but gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 22.49%, liquidity is 3.91% and receivables plus cash is 16.16%, below examined MSCI total-assets limits; activity remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 22.49% and liquidity is 3.91%, below the examined 33% limits; activity remains incomplete and this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and activity classification remains incomplete.
Business-activity disclosure
Kennametal manufactures metal-cutting tools, tooling systems and wear-resistant products for metalworking, aerospace, energy and industrial customers. Industrial manufacturing is generally permissible, while defense and end-use exposure require review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for aerospace, defense, energy or customer end uses, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions converted from Kennametal's thousands-of-dollars presentation for March 31, 2026.
- Debt combines $16.750 million revolving and other current borrowings with $597.394 million long-term debt; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash is $106.850 million and no separately identified interest-bearing securities are added.
- Accounts receivable is $334.429 million and third-quarter fiscal sales are $592.585 million; gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
- Kennametal's fiscal year ends June 30 and March 31, 2026 is the nine-month fiscal-period balance-sheet date.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →