KR
The Kroger Co.
Is KR Halal?
Supermarket retail is generally permissible, but the current debt screen fails and alcohol, tobacco, lottery and meat categories require qualitative review.
What You Should Know
Kroger's May 23, 2026 filing reports 33.79% interest-bearing debt/assets, 5.71% identifiable liquidity/assets and 9.89% receivables-plus-cash/assets. Interest income is not separately disclosed. Grocery, pharmacy and fuel operations are mixed with alcohol, tobacco, lottery and pork/non-halal meat categories that are not quantified under a universal Sharia revenue numerator.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is 33.79%, above the examined 33% limits
- •Alcohol, tobacco and lottery sales vary by banner and jurisdiction
- •Pork and non-halal meat revenue is not separately disclosed
- •Interest income is not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-23; calculated 2026-07-14.
16,995 / 50,292
2,873 / 50,292
4,974 / 50,292
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 33.79%, above the examined FTSE 33.333% limit; liquidity/assets is 5.71%, receivables plus cash/assets is 9.89% and interest income remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 33.79%, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit; liquidity/assets is 5.71% and receivables plus cash/assets is 9.89%. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 33.79%, above the examined Malaysia SAC 33% financial limit; identifiable liquidity/assets is 5.71%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed reproducible 24- or 36-month market-cap history is not stored; a spot estimate is not substituted.
Business-activity disclosure
Kroger operates supermarkets, pharmacies and fuel centers. General grocery and pharmacy activity is generally permissible, while alcohol, tobacco, lottery and non-halal meat sales create material qualitative concerns.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify product-category revenue under a universal prohibited-revenue numerator, so the article does not assert an unsupported percentage.
Purification
Interest income is not separately disclosed in the current filing; ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed scholar-approved purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Kroger's May 23, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt includes current debt of 1,264 and long-term debt of 15,731; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and temporary cash investments are 2,873 and no separate interest-bearing securities line is included.
- Receivables are 2,101 and first-quarter total sales are 46,121.
- Interest income is not separately disclosed; the filing reports net interest expense of 209 million.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →