LIN
Linde PLC
Is LIN Halal?
Industrial gases — permissible manufacturing/industrial business.
What You Should Know
Linde supplies industrial gases and related engineering services, including oxygen, nitrogen and hydrogen. Its March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 30.49%, liquidity/assets of 4.59% and receivables plus cash/assets of 10.75%. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, and the filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for customer end uses or contracts, so the business screen remains incomplete.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is below the examined 33% limits but remains close enough to monitor
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; interest expense was $62 million for the quarter
- •Hydrogen, defense, energy and industrial customer end uses require qualitative review
- •The filing does not quantify any prohibited-revenue category
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
26,317 / 86,315
3,959 / 86,315
9,280 / 86,315
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 30.49%, liquidity/assets is 4.59% and receivables plus cash/assets is 10.75%; gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The examined total-assets ratios pass, but customer end-use and contract revenue remain incompletely screened; this is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and identifiable liquidity/assets are below the examined limits; activity remains incomplete and this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Linde supplies industrial gases and engineering services, including oxygen, nitrogen and hydrogen. The core manufacturing activity is generally permissible, while customer end uses and contract-level activity require evidence.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator by customer end use, government contract, hydrogen application or other scholar-sensitive category.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and business-category revenue remains incomplete; ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Linde's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q and rounded to the nearest million.
- Debt is short-term debt of $4,822 million, current long-term debt of $1,636 million and long-term debt of $19,859 million; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash is $3,959 million and the filing does not identify a separate balance of interest-bearing securities for this input.
- Accounts receivable is $5,321 million and quarterly sales are $8,781 million.
- Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; interest expense-net was $62 million.
- Industrial-gas, engineering and hydrogen customer end uses are not allocated into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →