MHK
Mohawk Industries Inc.
Is MHK Halal?
Flooring manufacturing is generally permissible, and the current disclosed asset-based ratios pass.
What You Should Know
Mohawk's April 4, 2026 filing reports 15.22% interest-bearing debt/assets, 6.32% identifiable liquidity/assets and 21.52% receivables-plus-cash/assets. Interest income is not separately disclosed. The flooring business is generally permissible, while product and downstream end use remain qualitative.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Interest income is not separately disclosed
- •Housing and commercial end-use exposure remains qualitative
- •Debt and commercial paper should be monitored
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-04; calculated 2026-07-14.
2,098.4 / 13,791.1
872.3 / 13,791.1
2,965 / 13,791.1
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 15.22%, liquidity/assets is 6.32% and receivables plus cash/assets is 21.52%; interest-income and product classification remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The disclosed total-assets ratios are below their limits; interest-income and product classification remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and identifiable liquidity/assets are below 33%; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A licensed reproducible 24- or 36-month market-cap history is not stored; a spot estimate is not substituted.
Business-activity disclosure
Mohawk manufactures ceramic, stone, carpet, resilient, laminate, wood and other flooring products. The core manufacturing activity is generally permissible, while commercial, hospitality and downstream end use requires qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not classify every product, customer or end use under a Sharia standard and does not separately disclose interest income.
Purification
Interest income is not separately disclosed in the current filing. ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed scholar-approved purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Mohawk Industries' April 4, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt uses total debt of 2,098.4, including commercial paper, current debt, long-term debt and finance leases before debt issuance costs.
- Receivables net are 2,092.7 and cash and cash equivalents are 872.3.
- Interest income is not separately disclosed; the filing reports 2.4 of interest expense for the quarter.
- Product and customer end-use categories do not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →