MKC
McCormick & Company
Is MKC Halal?
Spices and seasonings — generally permissible food products.
What You Should Know
McCormick's May 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 29.94%, liquidity/assets 2.01%, and receivables plus cash/assets 6.32%. Product and interest-income details remain incomplete rather than assumed zero.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Product-level ingredient and certification review
- •Interest income not separately disclosed
- •Global food-service mix
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
4,933.5 / 16,477.1
331.2 / 16,477.1
1,040.6 / 16,477.1
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 29.94%, liquidity is 2.01%, and receivables plus cash is 6.32%; the financial ratios pass the examined limits, but income and the product-activity screen remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables plus cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is not an index-membership claim; business-activity revenue remains undisclosed.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt and identifiable liquidity are below 33% of total assets. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification; screened business revenue remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
McCormick develops spices, seasonings, condiments and flavor products. The core activity is generally permissible, but global product and ingredient details are not consolidated into a universal Sharia revenue screen.
Limitation: Public reporting does not separately quantify alcohol-containing, animal-derived, non-halal or other product revenue at a level that supports a reproducible numerator.
Purification
Gross interest income and screened product revenue are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $3,597.4 million of long-term debt, $9.5 million of current maturities and $1,326.6 million of short-term borrowings.
- Cash is $331.2 million and accounts receivable is $709.4 million at May 31, 2026.
- Quarterly net sales are $1,936.6 million. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed in the filing.
- The company does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for all flavor, condiment, food-service and acquired product lines.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →