MTRN
Materion Corporation
Is MTRN Halal?
Advanced materials maker with known financial ratios passing; gross interest income and activity classification remain incomplete.
What You Should Know
Materion Corporation produces advanced engineered materials, specialty alloys, precision optics and thin-film coatings for semiconductor, aerospace, defense and industrial markets. Its April 3, 2026 Form 10-Q reports assets of $1,877.399 million, interest-bearing debt of $491.667 million, cash of $16.189 million and accounts receivable of $267.209 million. Debt/assets is 26.19%, liquidity/assets is 0.86% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 15.10%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. The known financial ratios pass the examined MSCI and Malaysia proxies, with FTSE income remaining incomplete, while mixed end-use activity remains qualitative.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Known debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash ratios pass the examined limits
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed
- •Defense and aerospace customers are mixed with commercial and industrial end markets
- •Semiconductor and precision-optics applications require customer review
- •Re-screen after the next filing or a material capacity or acquisition change
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-03; calculated 2026-07-15.
491.667 / 1,877.399
16.189 / 1,877.399
283.398 / 1,877.399
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Known debt/assets is 26.19%, liquidity is 0.86% and receivables plus cash is 15.10%, below examined FTSE limits, but gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 26.19%, liquidity is 0.86% and receivables plus cash is 15.10%, below examined MSCI total-assets limits; activity remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 26.19% and liquidity is 0.86%, below the examined 33% limits; activity remains incomplete and this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and activity classification remains incomplete.
Business-activity disclosure
Materion produces advanced engineered materials, specialty alloys, precision optics and thin-film coatings for semiconductor, aerospace, defense and industrial markets. Advanced-materials manufacturing is generally permissible, while end uses require review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for defense, aerospace, semiconductor or customer end uses, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions converted from Materion's thousands-of-dollars presentation for April 3, 2026.
- Debt uses $491.667 million total debt outstanding, including current and long-term borrowings; finance and operating leases are excluded from the debt proxy.
- Cash is $16.189 million and no separately identified interest-bearing securities are added.
- Accounts receivable is $267.209 million and first-quarter net sales are $549.824 million; gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
- Materion's fiscal year ends December 31 and the 13-week first quarter ended April 3, 2026.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →