MU
Micron Technology
Is MU Halal?
Memory and storage manufacturing; core activity is permissible, but the current screen is methodology-dependent.
What You Should Know
Micron's May 2026 cash plus investments are 22.46% of assets. Receivables plus cash are 41.77%, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Receivables plus cash exceed the examined MSCI total-assets limit
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed from net interest income
- •Cyclical, capital-intensive manufacturing and customer concentration
- •Export controls, supply chain, data-center end use and fixed-income investment review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-28; calculated 2026-07-13.
5,722 / 134,112
30,128 / 134,112
56,020 / 134,112
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 4.27%, identifiable liquidity is 22.46% and receivables plus cash are 41.77%, all below the examined FTSE limits. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, so the income screen remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 4.27% and liquidity is 22.46%, but receivables plus cash are 41.77% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% total-assets limit.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 4.27% and identifiable conventional liquidity is 22.46%, both below the examined 33% limits. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored.
Business-activity disclosure
Micron designs and manufactures DRAM, NAND and NOR memory and storage products for data-center, mobile, client, automotive and embedded markets. Semiconductor manufacturing is generally a permissible industrial activity, subject to customer, end-use and financial-structure review.
Limitation: The filing discloses revenue by memory technology and business unit but does not provide a prohibited-revenue numerator by customer purpose, end use, product deployment, financing activity or other screened category.
Purification
Micron reports interest income (expense), net of 215, but gross interest income is not separately disclosed and screened operating revenue is unavailable; this record does not prescribe a fixed purification amount.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt uses current debt of 582 and long-term debt of 5,140; operating lease liabilities are not included because no finance-lease liability is separately reported in the balance sheet.
- Cash and cash equivalents use 24,995. Interest-bearing securities use short-term investments of 1,027 plus long-term marketable investments of 4,106. The portfolio includes corporate bonds, asset-backed securities, commercial paper, certificates of deposit and government securities.
- Receivables use the reported 31,025 balance. The filing does not provide a separate trade-receivable subtotal for this screen.
- Quarterly revenue uses 41,456 for the 13-week quarter ended May 28, 2026.
- The filing reports interest income (expense), net of 215, but does not separately disclose gross interest income; no gross non-compliant-income numerator is inferred.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →