NCLH

Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings Ltd.

HARAM — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is NCLH Halal?

Cruise operator with disclosed casino and beverage activity embedded in onboard revenue; current debt/assets also materially fails the examined limits.

What You Should Know

NCLH's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $23,794.853M total assets, $15,154.872M interest-bearing debt, $185.047M cash, $277.100M receivables and $2,331.221M quarterly revenue. ZakatInvest calculates debt/assets 63.69%, liquidity 0.78% and receivables plus cash/assets 1.94%. Onboard and other revenue was $788.900M, or 33.84% of quarterly revenue, and the filing says it primarily includes casino, beverage, shore excursions, specialty dining, retail, spa and Wi-Fi. This is a conservative mixed-category proxy, not a claim every dollar is prohibited or an index-membership claim.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Onboard and other revenue was $788.900M, or 33.84% of quarterly revenue, and includes casino and beverage sales
  • Casino operations are maysir; exact casino revenue is not separately disclosed
  • Alcohol sales are embedded in the onboard category; exact alcohol share is not separately disclosed
  • Debt/assets of 63.69% materially exceeds examined FTSE, MSCI and Malaysia SAC asset-based limits
  • NCLH had $165.987M of net interest expense in the quarter and $1.6B liquidity including revolver availability
  • Fleet expansion, shipbuilding, FX/fuel, passenger safety, labor, environmental and content diligence remain relevant

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
63.69%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

15,154.872 / 23,794.853

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
0.78%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

185.047 / 23,794.853

Receivables + cash / assets
1.94%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

462.147 / 23,794.853

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt/assets are 63.69%, liquidity is 0.78% and receivables plus cash are 1.94%. Debt/assets exceeds the examined FTSE limit; interest income is unavailable and the mixed onboard activity remains a qualitative business screen.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt/assets of 63.69% exceeds the examined MSCI total-assets limit. The onboard category is mixed and this is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt/assets of 63.69% exceeds the examined Malaysia SAC financial limit. This calculation is not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Fails

A properly licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, but a different denominator cannot cure the failed debt screen or the casino and beverage activity concerns.

Business-activity disclosure

NCLH operates Norwegian, Oceania and Regent cruise brands; it reported 35 ships and approximately 75,000 berths as of March 31, 2026. Onboard and other revenue of $788.900 million (33.84% of quarterly revenue) includes casino and beverage sales among other mixed services; gambling and alcohol are structurally embedded in the cruise experience.

Limitation: Onboard and other revenue is a mixed category. The filing does not allocate exact casino revenue, alcohol revenue, adult content or other prohibited revenue. The lower-bound proxy is disclosed evidence, not a universal prohibited-revenue total.

Purification

The core cruise activity and failed debt screen make a fixed purification percentage inappropriate; the mixed onboard proxy is not a scholar-approved donation percentage and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Inputs use NCLH's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions.
  • Debt uses the current portion of long-term debt plus long-term debt; operating liabilities are excluded.
  • Cash uses cash and cash equivalents only; the $1.4 billion revolver availability is excluded from the cash numerator.
  • Receivables use accounts receivable, net; inventories and other current assets are excluded.
  • Onboard and other revenue is a conservative mixed-category lower-bound proxy. The filing says it primarily includes casino, beverage, shore excursions, specialty dining, retail, spa and Wi-Fi; it is not a claim that every onboard dollar is prohibited or that a scholar-approved purification percentage exists.
  • Total quarterly revenue was $2,331.221 million. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; the filing reports net interest expense.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own NCLH? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track NCLH and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →