NDSN

Nordson Corporation

HALAL — DATA INCOMPLETEstock

Is NDSN Halal?

Precision industrial, medical and electronics equipment are generally permissible; the latest record is incomplete.

What You Should Know

Nordson's April 30, 2026 Form 10-Q reports 31.63% interest-bearing debt/assets, 1.71% cash/assets and 11.88% receivables-plus-cash/assets. Known asset-based ratios are below the examined limits, but interest income, downstream end-use classification and market-cap methods are not fully quantified.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt/assets is close to the examined 33.333% limit
  • Interest income is not separately disclosed
  • Medical, electronics and industrial end uses require qualitative review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-14.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
31.63%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

1,886.356 / 5,964.418

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
1.71%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

102.017 / 5,964.418

Receivables + cash / assets
11.88%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

708.706 / 5,964.418

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets is 31.63%, cash/assets is 1.71% and receivables plus cash/assets is 11.88%; known ratios pass, but interest income is unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Known debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash ratios pass the examined MSCI total-assets limits; income and business classification remain incomplete. This is not an index-membership claim.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets and identifiable liquidity/assets are below the examined SAC limits; income and market-cap records remain incomplete.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed reproducible market-cap history is not stored; a spot estimate is not substituted.

Business-activity disclosure

Nordson manufactures precision dispensing, medical-fluid and advanced-technology equipment used in packaging, manufacturing, medical and electronics applications. Industrial and medical equipment are generally permissible, while the filing does not quantify every downstream end use into a school-specific prohibited-revenue numerator.

Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible market-cap denominator history or a universal prohibited-revenue and interest-income numerator.

Purification

Interest income is not separately disclosed; investors should seek qualified guidance and ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed percentage.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Amounts are USD millions from Nordson's April 30, 2026 Form 10-Q.
  • Interest-bearing debt is current maturities and notes payable of 50.000 plus long-term debt of 1,836.356; operating and finance leases are excluded.
  • Cash is 102.017 and net receivables are 606.689.
  • Second-quarter sales are 740.847; six-month sales were 1,410.308.
  • The filing reports interest expense but does not isolate a reproducible interest-income numerator.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own NDSN? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track NDSN and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →