ODFL

Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

HALAL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is ODFL Halal?

Less-than-truckload freight and logistics are generally permissible, and the current asset-based financial ratios pass with substantial margin; downstream allocation remains incomplete.

What You Should Know

Old Dominion's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $5,656.948 million of total assets, $39.996 million of interest-bearing debt, $288.082 million of cash, $566.505 million of customer and other receivables, $1,334.696 million of quarterly revenue and $2.280 million of interest income. ZakatInvest's current calculations are debt/assets 0.71%, liquidity 5.09%, receivables plus cash/assets 15.11% and interest income/revenue 0.17%; the examined FTSE Yasaar, MSCI total-assets and Malaysia SAC financial ratios pass. The LTL carrier, drayage, brokerage and supply-chain services are generally permissible, but a universal prohibited-revenue numerator is not disclosed. This is a current ZakatInvest calculation, not an index-membership claim.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt/assets of 0.71%, liquidity of 5.09% and receivables plus cash/assets of 15.11% pass the examined asset-based limits, but capital spending, buybacks and freight cycles can change the ratios
  • Disclosed interest income is 0.17% of quarterly revenue; purification remains methodology- and scholar-specific
  • The company also offers expedited transportation, container drayage, truckload brokerage and supply-chain consulting, whose customer end uses are not universally allocated
  • Driver compensation, safety, claims, emissions, labor practices and network capacity remain broader ethical diligence topics
  • Old Dominion carries senior notes and maintains credit facilities despite its very low current debt balance
  • Market-cap denominator methods are not calculated without a licensed historical market-cap series

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
0.71%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

39.996 / 5,656.948

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
5.09%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

288.082 / 5,656.948

Receivables + cash / assets
15.11%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

854.587 / 5,656.948

Non-compliant income / revenue
0.17%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

2.28 / 1,334.696

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 0.71%, liquidity is 5.09%, receivables plus cash/assets is 15.11% and disclosed interest income/revenue is 0.17%; the examined financial ratios pass. The downstream prohibited-revenue percentage remains unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt, liquidity, receivables plus cash and disclosed interest income pass the examined MSCI total-assets checks. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim; business allocation remains incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 0.71%, liquidity is 5.09%, receivables plus cash/assets is 15.11% and disclosed interest income/revenue is 0.17%; the examined ratios pass. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Old Dominion is a North American less-than-truckload carrier providing regional, inter-regional and national freight services through an integrated network. Expedited transportation, container drayage, truckload brokerage and supply-chain consulting are generally permissible logistics activities at the business-line level.

Limitation: The filing does not provide a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator for every customer, shipment, brokerage or supply-chain end use.

Purification

Disclosed interest income is 0.17% of quarterly revenue. A universal prohibited-revenue numerator and scholar-approved purification percentage are not separately disclosed, so this record does not prescribe a fixed rate.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Inputs use Old Dominion's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions converted from the filing's thousands presentation.
  • Interest-bearing debt is $39.996 million, comprising $20.000 million of current maturities and $19.996 million of long-term debt.
  • Cash and cash equivalents are $288.082 million; the filing does not separately report an interest-bearing securities portfolio.
  • Receivables use $542.208 million of customer receivables plus $24.297 million of other receivables.
  • Quarterly revenue from operations is $1,334.696 million and disclosed interest income is $2.280 million. The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for downstream customers or services.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own ODFL? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track ODFL and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →