OKE
ONEOK Inc.
Is OKE Halal?
Natural-gas midstream — permissible infrastructure but the current debt screen fails.
What You Should Know
ONEOK's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 49.34%, liquidity/assets of 0.25% and receivables plus cash/assets of 5.63%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Natural-gas and NGL gathering, processing, transport and storage can be permissible, while commodity contracts, affiliate structures, environmental liabilities and substantial conventional financing require review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 49.34% of assets
- •Very low unrestricted liquidity
- •Natural-gas and NGL end-use and contract review
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
33,652 / 68,203
172 / 68,203
3,842 / 68,203
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.34% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 0.25% and receivables plus cash are 5.63%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.34% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 49.34% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
ONEOK operates natural-gas and NGL gathering, processing, transportation, storage and fractionation infrastructure. Midstream infrastructure can be permissible, while hydrocarbon end uses, commodity contracts, affiliate structures, environmental liabilities and substantial conventional financing require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest-income numerator; this is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from ONEOK's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt includes $1,647 million of short-term borrowings, $1,241 million of current maturities and $30,764 million of long-term debt excluding current maturities; operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $172 million. Retirement and deferred-compensation investments, municipal bonds and other fixed-income assets are not added because they are earmarked plan assets rather than unrestricted corporate securities.
- Accounts receivable, net are $3,670 million and first-quarter total revenues are $9,618 million.
- The filing reports interest expense net of capitalized interest but does not separately disclose gross interest income or a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →