ORCL

Oracle Corp.

DOUBTFUL — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is ORCL Halal?

Enterprise software and cloud can be permissible, but current debt is above examined total-assets limits and public disclosure cannot reproduce a screened customer-use revenue allocation.

What You Should Know

Oracle's FY2026 interest-bearing debt is 49.49% of total assets. Cloud, software, hardware and services revenue is not disclosed by healthcare, government, financial, AI, customer or end use.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Debt exceeds examined total-assets limits
  • Customer, healthcare, government, AI and contract-use revenue is not disclosed
  • Privacy, security, surveillance and automated-decision review
  • Data-center energy, water, supply-chain and export-control review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-K figures for the period ended 2026-05-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
49.49%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

129,541 / 261,759

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
12.18%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

31,894 / 261,759

Receivables + cash / assets
15.92%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

41,674 / 261,759

Non-compliant income / revenue
1.16%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

780 / 67,357

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 49.49%, above the examined 33.333% limit. Liquidity is 12.18%, receivables plus cash is 15.92%, and disclosed interest income is 1.16%, but the debt failure controls the result.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 49.49%, above the 33.33% total-assets limit. Liquidity and receivables-plus-cash pass, but the debt screen fails.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Conservatively defined interest-bearing debt is 49.49% of total assets, above the 33% financial-ratio limit. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Oracle provides enterprise applications, database and infrastructure software, cloud services, hardware and professional services. General-purpose IT tools can serve legitimate operations, health, education, communications and other beneficial uses, but their ultimate deployment and customer activity are not uniform.

Limitation: Public revenue categories cannot reproduce a screened allocation by customer, industry, government, healthcare, financial activity, contract, cloud workload, AI use, data practice or prohibited category.

Purification

Disclosed interest income is 1.16% of fiscal-year revenue, but screened operating revenue is unavailable. That ratio is evidence for the displayed income screen, not a complete fixed purification prescription.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt uses 7,199 current plus 122,342 non-current notes payable and other borrowings.
  • Cash uses 31,289 and identifiable interest-bearing securities use 605 marketable securities, described as primarily time deposits. Cash and equivalents include bank deposits, time deposits and money-market funds.
  • Trade receivables use the reported 10,385 net balance. Revenue and disclosed interest income use the fiscal year ended May 31, 2026.
  • The filing reports 780 interest income within broader non-operating income; it is used for the financial income ratio, while no complete purification instruction is inferred without screened operating revenue.
  • Cloud and software, hardware and services revenue are reported, but not by customer, product use, healthcare, government, financial service, contract, AI deployment or other screened activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own ORCL? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track ORCL and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →