OTIS
Otis Worldwide Corp.
Is OTIS Halal?
Elevators and escalators — permissible infrastructure products.
What You Should Know
Otis's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 74.16% and receivables plus cash/assets 45.10%, both above examined financial limits; liquidity/assets is 7.91%. Gross interest income and a prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed, while supplier finance, customer contracts and downstream uses remain qualitative concerns.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 74.16% of assets
- •MSCI receivables-plus-cash screen fails
- •Gross interest income not separately disclosed
- •Supplier finance and customer end uses
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
7,818 / 10,542
834 / 10,542
4,754 / 10,542
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 74.16% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit. Liquidity is 7.91% and receivables plus cash is 45.10%; gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 74.16% and receivables plus cash is 45.10%, above the examined 33.33% limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 74.16% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, while identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Otis Worldwide manufactures elevators and escalators and provides installation, modernization and maintenance services. Infrastructure equipment and services are generally permissible, but customer financing, supplier finance and downstream end uses require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for customer financing, supplier finance, defense or other scholar-specific end uses, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and screened activity categories are not quantified; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $244 million of short-term borrowings with $7,574 million of long-term debt including the $695 million current portion.
- Cash uses $834 million of cash and cash equivalents. The filing reports $56 million of marketable securities but does not identify them as interest-bearing debt securities, so they are excluded.
- Accounts receivable are $3,920 million; contract assets are not added to receivables. Quarterly net sales are $3,566 million.
- The filing reports $59 million of net interest expense but does not separately disclose gross interest income usable as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →