OXY
Occidental Petroleum Corp.
Is OXY Halal?
Oil exploration — financial ratios pass, but environmental and activity questions remain.
What You Should Know
Occidental's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 19.48%, liquidity/assets of 4.74% and receivables plus cash/assets of 10.29%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Oil, gas, midstream and chemicals activity can be permissible, while environmental impacts, carbon-management contracts and conventional financing require qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Oil and gas and chemicals activity requires qualitative review
- •Environmental, emissions and reclamation risks
- •Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
15,671 / 80,464
3,811 / 80,464
8,279 / 80,464
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 19.48% of total assets, liquidity is 4.74% and receivables plus cash are 10.29%; gross interest income is unavailable, so the full activity and income assessment remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined total-assets limits. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined Malaysia SAC financial limits; this is not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and business classification remains incomplete, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Occidental explores and produces oil and gas and operates midstream, marketing and chemicals businesses. Energy production and infrastructure can be permissible, while hydrocarbons, chemicals, carbon-management contracts, environmental liabilities and conventional financing require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest-income numerator; this is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and no scholar-approved purification percentage is prescribed; no fixed amount is estimated.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Occidental's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Interest-bearing debt includes $424 million of current maturities and $15,247 million of long-term debt; finance leases included where separately reported, while operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $3,811 million; no separately identified unrestricted interest-bearing securities balance is added.
- Accounts receivable combines $3,677 million of trade receivables and $791 million of joint-interest receivables; first-quarter revenue is $5,230 million.
- The consolidated filing does not separately disclose gross interest income or a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →